Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Celebrating Administrative Professionals Day

By: Carol L Hardin, CPS/CAP

The Pikes Peak Chapter of the International Association of Administrative Professionals (IAAP) Celebrated Administrative Professional Day at the Crowne Plaza on April 27th. The day started out with a fourth annual morning seminar with 68 Admin’s and Executives in attendance. They were here to listen and learn from the motivational speaker and humorist, Todd Hunt, on “Communication Bleeps and Blunders in Business.” You say one thing; your boss or co worker heard something else. Nobody is wrong, but now every body’s confused…and you have to fix it! We all laughed and learned from Todd Hunt as he shared real-life examples from business, revealing how we can improve our communication with customers and colleagues to become more successful.

This was the 11th year the Pikes Peak Chapter has held the Administrative Professional Day luncheon and marks the 58th anniversary of honoring Administrative Professionals during this week. The following Mayors from surrounding cities signed Proclamations honoring the Administrative Professionals. These Mayors were from Colorado Springs, Woodland Park, Manitou Springs, and the Town of Monument. In addition we were given a Proclamation from Colorado’s Governor Hickenlooper.

Craig Coffee of Fox 21 Morning News was this year’s Emcee for the big event with 135 Admin’s and Executives in attendance. Craig did a wonderful job of keeping the event enjoyable with jokes and stories during the course of the luncheon. Diane Dillinger, Student Services Manager, at Everest College gave our keynote address on communications of all forms. This interesting speech from Diane led us into the awards and recognition. The Pikes Peak Chapter appreciates the supports of numerous sponsors. They are: FedEx, Honeywell, Lockheed Martin, OfficeTeam, Integral Systems, First Choice Awards, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, Add Staff, Jim Hardin, and D&J Performance Horses. They were all recognized with an appreciation certificate for supporting IAAP.

This year there were 9 students who applied for the IAAP Scholarship. There were two divisions represented this year, High School and College Division, each division received a $750 scholarship. The winner of the high school scholarship was Maria Jaime from Harrison High School and is planning to attend Pikes Peak Community College to pursue a degree in Business Administration. This year’s College Division scholarship recipient was Jacqueline Perry, currently completing her first year at Everest College working towards a degree in Paralegal.

An important part of our luncheon each year is the presentation of awards that recognizes the outstanding contributions of Administrative Professionals in our workplaces. The first award to be given out is for the Administrative Professional of the year (APOTY) and the 2011 Administrative Professional of the Year went to Amy R. Milam, Executive Secretary for the 10th Air Base Wing, United States Air Force Academy. Her nominator states that “she is the cornerstone for the Wing Commander’s administrative staff for the 10th Air Base Wing at the US Air Force Academy, flawlessly coordinating more that 40 calendar events with a myriad of agencies from squadron to Air Force level and beyond, ensuring total mission success.”

The next award is for the 2011 Executive of the Year (EOTY”) and the recipient was Tommy F. Crawford, Vice President and Deputy from C2 Solutions at Lockheed Martin. Tommy is retired from the United States Air Force as a Major General after 34 years serving both as an experienced operational pilot and in senior leadership positions in the area of Command, Control and Intelligence Systems. The nominator says “he is the best person I have ever worked for since she joined Lockheed Martin in 1982, and has the utmost respect for him, and he also shows great respect for me.”

Each year, the Pikes Peak Chapter members also award one of their own with this esteemed Member of the Year (MOTY) and this year’s winner was Carol L Hardin, CPS/CAP. Carol is extremely dedicated to the Association, Pikes Peak Chapter, and the Colorado-Wyoming-Montana Division. She has excelled in numerous leadership positions and has a knack for promoting IAAP, recruiting new members and radiates a positive image of our chapter and its members. Her nominator said, “I have know her now for about four years and in my opinion, she optimizes the dedication and involvement we strive to have more of this in our organization.”

Gloria Viebrock, CPS the Pikes Peak Chapter President gave some closing remarks as well as inviting Marilyn Sullivan, CPS to the podium to give some membership information about our organization. This year was a big success thanks to all the hard work from volunteers from our chapter and our community.


Report this ad