Skip to main content

See also:

Catch Tom Skerritt at the Hilberry today

Tom Skerritt returns to WSU on April 22, at the Hilberry Theatre
Tom Skerritt returns to WSU on April 22, at the Hilberry Theatre
Courtesy of WSU

Are you going to see Tom Skerritt today? The Hollywood actor is coming back to where his remarkable 50-year career began – WSU’s Department of Theatre and Dance. You can give yourself a treat and support the WSU theatre program by attending “A Conversation with Apple Award Recipient Tom Skerritt” at the Hilberry Theatre today, April 22 at 5:30 p.m. Skerritt will appear in an “actors studio” style interview and question-and-answer session. Tickets are $20 and may be purchased online, by calling (313) 577-2972 or at the box office.

Students, faculty and proud alums are happy to welcome Tom Skerritt back to the campus where he paved the path for his incredible career in television and film. He has appeared in over 40 films and 200 television episodes since 1962. Mr. Skerritt is best known for his work in “M*A*S*H,” “Alien,” “Top Gun,” “A River Runs Through It” and the television series “Picket Fences” and “Cheers.” Mr. Skerritt has even appeared on Broadway in “A Time To Kill” and has also appeared on stage in Seattle at the Pacific Northwest Ballet in “Don Quixote” and at the Intiman Theatre in “Our Town.”

After serving in the Air Force, Tom Skerritt attended Wayne State University and later UCLA for filmmaking and directing. His first professional acting job was in 1962’s “War Hunt with Robert Redford and Sydney Pollock. His directing mentor, Robert Altman, cast him in 1970’s “M*A*S*H.” He has upwards of 150 acting credits and many awards, including an Emmy in 1994 for his work on “Picket Fences.

Mr. Skerritt is receiving the Apple Award, named for Sarah Applebaum Nederlander, given by the Maggie Allesee Department of Theatre and Dance at Wayne State University on behalf of the Nederlander family. In 2001, the Nederlander family formed a partnership with the College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts at Wayne State University, establishing the Sarah Applebaum Nederlander Award for Excellence in Theatre; an annual theatre award and visiting artist fund in their mother's name. The Apple Award brings a nationally prominent theatre professional to Detroit and the Wayne State University campus as a guest lecturer to interact with and educate the rising stars of the Department of Theatre and Dance through master classes and a question-and-answer style forum. Previous Apple Award winners include Neil Simon, Carol Channing, David Stone, Stephen Schwartz, Mandy Patinkin, Patti Lupone, Marvin Hamlisch, and Elaine Stritch.