Skip to main content
Report this ad

Carry beyond Wisconsin

Wisconsin residents who have a new Wisconsin License to Carry may now carry in certain states other than Wisconsin (with your Wisconsin license) when you travel. You must follow the laws of the state that you visit, your Wisconsin laws do not travel with you.

Typical differences between state laws are where an armed citizen may or may not carry such as bars or places that serve alcohol, casinos, churches, day care centers, certain government facilities such as courthouses, state capitol complexes, public libraries, state or national parks, and places that may individually prohibit weapons. Other restrictions may apply for example; open carry or drinking while armed or the number of guns you are allowed to carry.

As of today, the following states honor a Wisconsin license to Carry: Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Iowa, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah and Vermont and Wisconsin. This list does change without notice.

Arizona, Alaska, South Dakota, Vermont and Wisconsin are also Constitutional carry states where one may carry a handgun without first obtaining a license. Some restrictions apply (and they are different from state to state), it is your responsibility to know them.

Please check with the Attorney General's office of any state that you expect to visit and obtain a copy of their firearms and self defense laws, and read them so you know how to safely carry when you are visiting or traveling through those states.

You should also know how to legally transport your handgun when traveling through a state that does not honor your Wisconsin license.


Report this ad