Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Cardinals announce Hall of Fame Inductions

The Cardinal Hall of Fame Plaques.
The Cardinal Hall of Fame Plaques.
Eugene Tierney

The St. Louis Cardinals have introduced the first induction class to their Hall of Fame: Jim Edmonds, Willie McGee, Mike Shannon and Marty Marion.

Edmonds and McGee were the "modern era" selections, voted on by fans for the induction class; they beat out Ted Simmons, Mark McGwire, Bob Forsch, Keith Hernandez, Matt Morris and Joe Torre. The Cardinals have reported that almost 80,000 votes were received via the internet. Edmonds was the centerfielder for the Cardinals for 8 years, including the 2006 World Champion team; during his tenure, he was a 3 time all star and 6 time gold glove winner. McGee was the 1982 NL Rookie of the Year, 1985 NL MVP, 4 time all star, and 3 time gold glove winner.

Shannon was selected by the Cardinal organization, who retained the right to induct important figures from Cardinal history. Shannon, a St. Louis local, played for the team for 9 years before joining the broadcast team, where he's been for the last 40 years.

Marion was elected by the Cardinal Red Ribbon Panel, a combination of various media members (radio, print, online) and Red Schoendienst. Marion was the 1944 NL MVP and played for the organization for 11 years, including the 1942, 1944, and 1946 World Champions.

These four will join the following players who were already announced as inductees: Jim Bottomley, Ken Boyer, Lou Brock, Jack Buck, August A. “Gussie” Busch Jr., Dizzy Dean, Frank Frisch, Bob Gibson, Chick Hafey, Jesse Haines, Whitey Herzog, Rogers Hornsby, Tony La Russa, Joe Medwick, Johnny Mize, Stan Musial, Branch Rickey, Red Schoendienst, Enos Slaughter, Ozzie Smith, Billy Southworth and Bruce Sutter. These players have been inducted to Cooperstown or have had their number retired by the organization.

The induction ceremony will be August 16th.

Report this ad