Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Canton Charge player Olek Czyz picked for NBA D-League Select Team

Olek Czyz in action during the Canton Charge 2013-2014 Season.
Olek Czyz in action during the Canton Charge 2013-2014 Season.
Mark Horning & Co. Photography

Select Team will compete is Las Vegas for fifth year with tip off on July 11, 2014

Olek Czyz picked for NBA D-League Select Team
Mark Horning & Co. Photography

The NBA Development League has announced the 2014 roster for the 2014 NBA D-League Select Team. This team will be competing in the Samsung NBA Summer League 2014 in Las Vegas. The 12 man roster which is comprised of the top players and prospects from around the NBA Development League will face the New Orleans Pelicans on Friday, July 11 at 10:30 ET. The games will be played at the Thomas & Mack Center on the campus of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. There will be a minimum of five games played as the teams go for the Samsung NBA Summer League Championship Trophy.

“The NBA Summer League is an exciting time for the NBA D-League, with 12 of the league’s top talents coming together to showcase their impressive skills and unwavering determination on basketball’s biggest summer stage,” said Chris Alpert, Vice President of Basketball Operations and Player Personnel for the NBA D-League. “We’re excited to bring this group of players to Las Vegas and look forward to watching the team compete.”

Making up the NBA D-League team will be players from nine Development League clubs as well as four players with NBA experience including Josh Akognon (Delaware 87ers), Devin Ebanks (Springfield Armor), Terrel Harris (Bakersfield Jam) and Tony Mitchell (Fort Wayne Mad Ants). Mitchell is one of three members of the 2014 NBA D-League Champion Mad Ants, he is joined on the Select team by Matt Bouldin and 2014 NBA D-League Co-MVP Ron Howard.

The coach for the Select Team will be Fort Wayne head coach Conner Henry who is coming off a championship season with the Mad Ants. Assisting him will be
Tunde Adekola (Maine Red Claws), Steve Gansey (Fort Wayne), Sean Rooks (Sioux Falls Skyforce) and Dylan Murphy (Fort Wayne), while Mark Mahoney (Springfield) will serve as the team’s athletic trainer. Henry re-joins the Select Team bench having served as an assistant coach on the squad in 2012.

Mitchell, a 2014 Third-Team All-NBA D-League selection, and his Fort Wayne teammates are three of eight members of the Select Team to have played in the 2014 NBA D-League playoffs, including Olek Czyz (Canton Charge), Bryan Davis (Reno Bighorns), Travis Hyman (Los Angeles D-Fenders), Tre Kelley (Sioux Falls) and Trent Lockett (Reno). The roster is rounded out by Maine’s Damen Bell-Holter.

The 2013-2014 season was the most successful to date for the NBA Development League as an all time high 62 NBA players were assigned to their NBA D-League affiliates for a record 187 times. Thirty seven NBA D-League players earned forty nine Gatorade call-ups to the NBA with thirty three percent of NBA players (149) who were members of the 2013-2014 end of season rosters have spent time in the NBA D-League during their careers.

The games will be covered by NBA Digital who will offer coverage of all sixty seven NBA Summer League 2014 games. Fans can catch all the action from Las Vegas on NBA TV or by subscribing to the NBA Summer League Live package which will broadcast each game live and is available on and NBA Mobile.

The 2014 NBA Summer League is comprised of 23 NBA teams and the NBA D-League Select squad, and features rookies, second-year players and select free agents.


Josh Akognon
G 5-11 175 2/10/86
Cal State
Fullerton Delaware

Damen Bell-Holter
F 6-9 245 4/13/90
Oral Roberts

Matt Bouldin
G 6-5 215 1/17/88
Fort Wayne

Olek Czyz
F 6-8 240 4/3/90

Bryan Davis
C 6-9 250 12/31/86
Texas A&M

Devin Ebanks
F 6-9 215 10/28/89
West Virginia

Terrel Harris
G 6-5 190 8/10/87
Oklahoma State
Bakersfield 2

Ron Howard
G 6-4 185 11/14/82
Fort Wayne

Travis Hyman
C 7-0 245 7/12/87
Bowie State
Los Angeles

Tre Kelley
G 6-0 188 1/23/85
South Carolina
Sioux Falls

Trent Lockett
F 6-5 210 12/10/90

Tony Mitchell
F 6-6 215 8/7/89
Fort Wayne

Head Coach: Conner Henry (Fort Wayne)

Assistant Coaches: Steve Gansey (Fort Wayne), Sean Rooks (Sioux Falls), Tunde Adekola (Maine), Dylan Murphy (Fort Wayne), Athletic Trainer: Mark Mahoney (Springfield)

NBA D-League Select Schedule (all times ET)

July 11
New Orleans
Thomas & Mack

July 13
Thomas & Mack

July 14
Thomas & Mack

About the NBA Development League

The NBA Development League is the NBA’s official minor league, preparing players, coaches, officials, trainers, and front-office staff for the NBA while acting as the league’s research and development laboratory. Featuring 18 teams with direct affiliations with NBA franchise for the 2014-15 season, the league offers elite professional basketball at an affordable price in a fun, family-friendly atmosphere. One-third of all NBA players at the end of the 2013-14 season boasted NBA D-League experience. In fostering the league’s connection to the community, its teams, players and staff promote health and wellness, support local needs and interests, and assist in educational development through NBA D-League Cares programs. Fans can watch all NBA D-League games on

Report this ad