Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Canadian cowboys advance to Sunday Showdown of Calgary Stampede

Calgary Stampede
Calgary Stampede
Photo by Mario Tama/Getty Images

According to the Calgary Stampede website on Monday, two Canadian cowboys have advanced to the Sunday Showdown of the 2014 Calgary Stampede. They are bareback rider Jake Vold of Ponoka, Alberta and bull rider Scott Schiffner of Strathmore, Alberta.

Vold finished in first place in the Pool A standings in the bareback competition. Despite only finishing in fourth place on Monday, Vold had a pool best aggregate total of $14,500. He joins three Texas cowboys in Sunday's final--Will Lowe of Canyon, Texas, Wes Stevenson of Lubbock, Texas and Richie Champion of Woodlands, Texas.

Schiffner meanwhile finished in fourth place in the Pool A bull riding competition. Despite being bucked off and not registering a score on Monday, he joined Marco Eguchi of Poa Sao Paula, Brazil, Tyler Smith of Fruita, Colorado and Chase Outlaw of Hamburg, Arkansas in Sunday's final.

In the saddle bronc, the four cowboys to advance to Sunday's final are Isaac Diaz of Desdemona, Texas, Heith DeMoss of Heflin, Louisiana, Bradley Harter of Loranger, Louisiana and Jacobs Crawley of Stephenville, Texas. In the tie down roping, the four cowboys who successfully advanced to the Sunday showdown were Tuf Cooper and Trevor Brazile of Decatur, Texas, Fred Whitfield of Hockley, Texas and Ryan Jarrett of Comanche, Oklahoma.

In the steer wrestling, the four cowboys to advance to the Sunday Showdown are Tyler Pearson of Independance, Louisiana, Luke Branquinho of Los Alamos, California, Dakota Eldridge of Elko, Nevada and Billy Bugenig of Ferndale, California. Meanwhile in ladies barrel racing, Brittany Pozzi of Victoria, Texas, Kaley Bass of Kissimmee, Florida, Britany Diaz of Bismarck, North Dakota and Mary Walker of Ennis, Texas are on their way to competing Sunday.

In the chuckwagon racing, Kurt Bensmiller of Dewberry, Alberta won night four while Jason Glass of High River, Alberta remains the overall leader. In other chuckwagon racing news, Tom Glass, Duane Bruce and Dave Poulsen received the Pioneers of Rodeo Awards on Monday. Glass won the Rangeland Derby four times, Bruce, of Donalda, Alberta has advanced to the Calgary Stampede final seven times in saddle bronc, and Poulsen of Calgary, has been broadcasting rodeos for 35 years.

Report this ad