Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. TV

California Chrome didn't win: Drought without a Triple Crown champion continues

See also

According to the Washington Post, California Chrome finished far back in a tie for fourth in Saturday's race. This means the longest drought without a Triple Crown champion in history will continue after 36 years without one.

Much had been talked about the race and the possibility of California Chrome winning. Unfortunately, Victor Espinoza lost the race at Belmont Park when tens of thousands of fans and onlookers were there to witness what they wanted to be a history-making race. Affirmed is still the most recent horse to win the Triple Crown, and that was back in 1978. California Chrome, the American Thoroughbred racehorse bred in California won the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes in May 2014. That's why he was in line for the Triple Crown.

Immediately after the race, co-owner Steve Coburn said, “I thought he was gaining ground, but he didn’t have it in him, apparently." He complained that some of the horses sat out some races, and were entered just to knock out California Chrome. He added, “It’s all or nothing. This is not fair to these horses and to the people that believe in them. This is the coward’s way out.”

The race didn't go at all the way it was expected to. California Chrome broke quickly but was pressed immediately by Commissioner and General a Rod. Espinoza eased California Chrome back into third along the rail. When Espinoza approached the final turn, California Chrome was maneuvered to the outside. California Chrome did not respond when Espinoza started whipping left handed in the lane.

In the end, Tonalist came in first, followed by Commissioner. Medal Count came in third with California Chrome and Wicked Strong tying for fourth place. Samraat was sixth, followed by General a Rod, Matterhorn, Commanding Curve, Matuszak and Ride On Curlin.

Tonalist paid $20.40, $9.60 and $7. Commissioner returned $23.20 and $13.20 while Medal Count paid $13.20.