Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Calgarians win 2014 Memorial Cup

See also

According to the Western Hockey League website on Sunday, Calgary natives Mitchell Moroz and Blake Orban were on the Edmonton Oil Kings' team that won the 2014 Memorial Cup in London, Ontario. In Sunday's final, the Oil Kings defeated the Guelph Storm 6-3 in London, Ontario.

Moroz, a left winger, actually scored the game winning goal in Sunday's championship game. It came with 5:41 left in the second period from Edgars Kulda and Henrik Samuelsson to put Edmonton up 4-2 at the time.

A second round draft pick, 32nd overall by the Edmonton Oilers in the 2012 National Hockey League Entry Draft, Moroz also notched an assist on Samuelsson's key insurance goal which put Edmonton up 5-3 with only five minutes left in the third period. Moroz finished the 2014 Memorial Cup with two goals and two assists for four points. Moroz also notched a goal and an assist in Edmonton's 4-3 win over the Val D'Or Foreurs in Friday's triple overtime semifinal.

Sunday's game was a tough one early for Orban however, who took a two minute high-sticking penalty at 1:48 of the first period, only 48 seconds after the Storm took an early 1-0 lead on a goal by Robby Fabbri. Orban bounced back however and was a +1, after being a -2 for the Oil Kings in their semifinal marathon victory.

Prior to the game, Canadian Olympic hockey gold medal winning hockey player Corey Perry and Natalie Spooner, along with three-time Hart Trophy winner Bobby Orr of the Boston Bruins and Canadian Hockey League president David Branch dropped the puck in the ceremonial faceoff.

On Saturday, the Canadian Hockey League announced its 2013-14 award winners. Calgary native Sam Fioretti of the Moose Jaw Warriors was the 2014 Cooper Tires Humanitarian of the Year. Fioretti visited local schools this past year to speak out against bullying.



  • Stephen A. Smith apologizes
    Stephen A. Smith: Ray Rice rant was 'most egregious error of my career'
    Domestic Violence
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • New York Yankees fan returns lost Red Sox World Series ring to owner
    MLB News
  • Peyton Manning dancing
    Peyton Manning shows off his formidable dancing skills at training camp
    NFL News
  • Bagwell becoming porn star
    Buff Bagwell has the stuff, but his Vivid dreams have not come true just yet
    Fight Sports
  • Grave defiler identified
    Die-hard Browns fan identified in Art Modell’s grave defiling video
    Crimes & Court