Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Bungie will require players to unlock multiplayer in 'Destiny'

Multiplayer matches in "Destiny" are a far cry from a level playing field.
Multiplayer matches in "Destiny" are a far cry from a level playing field.
Bungie, Inc.

Tyson Green in charge of investment at Bungie and this past April, he sat down with Eurogamer to talk about the studio's all new IP, a first-person shooter titled "Destiny." To Bungie, the word "investment" refers to the time which an individual has logged playing the game, and it is how a player advances their character through leveling up and unlocking new items and/or abilities. With "Destiny," players are required to invest time going through the game's single-player campaign before multiplayer modes are made available. This is a huge departure from most other games in the genre, including Bungie's own– incredibly successful and now iconic–"Halo" franchise.

Why prevent players from skipping the story and going straight into the firefight? Green says it's for the players' own good. Unlike "Halo," where everyone in the match starts on par with each other, players will be able to carry over weapons and abilities found in the campaign to the multiplayer battefield. This can leave novice players at a tremendous disadvantage.

"We found early on," he explains, "that people here in the studio, when they jumped on the game–these were people who were already really familiar with the game mechanics–they would roll a new character, play through the first mission then go right into [multiplayer], and they would just get really beaten up by the other players because their didn't have a super ability yet and they'd only got an auto rifle from the first mission."

To prevent this from being a lot of people's first impression of the game, Green and the other developers thought it best to require players to log a "couple of hours" of gameplay with any character before moving on to multiplayer. By that point, the team expects players will have completed a couple of missions, gotten a special weapon, and a super ability.

There are three character classes in "Destiny" (Hunter, Titan, and Warlock), all of which come with their own "focus" and therefore abilities. It is possible a player may find a weapon or gear that is specific to a certain class, or maybe just beyond a character's level. Using the game's Vault, players are able to store powerful items for later use or to trade with another of the player's characters. Item trading is not open between players at this time, but it is something Green says would be considered. Collecting the in-game currency (aka "Glimmer"), it is possible to purchase upgrades for one's character, but again, there is no "Diablo"-style auction house at the moment for players to sell or buy items from each other.

"Destiny" is scheduled to launch on September 9 for PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360, and Xbox One.

Report this ad