Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Brooklyn folk-pop quintet Vensaire releases concept album "Perdix"

See also

Vensaire is the band for a world where bands don't matter. In a culture lived on the internet and spoken in tongues of allusion and reference, the idea that a "band" in any traditional sense could be important is frightfully outdated. But this is the very void Vensaire was conceived in. Their music, a mystical concoction that spills over you in a wave of joy and longing, not only makes you dance, but ushers you along the path of reflection and growth. In this vein, Vensaire is the synthesis of five unique and disparate personalities three years in the making. Their debut will finally see the light of day with the concept album Perdix: a sweeping story of discovery and adventure based on Homer's Odyssey that crosses four continents before penetrating to the very heart of creation itself.

Perdix in some ways calls to mind the producer's discography. Vensaire aptly employs samples and electronic drums to augment the vocal and instrumental melodies at the heart of each song. What sets the band apart, however, is the complexity and variety of it's compositions. "See I'm You" builds from the reversed sample of a friend's voice into an anthemic pop gem. "Porteño" rides the exuberance of Spanish-style guitars and "Song 6" revels in gorgeous Asian-inspiried strings. "Rose Cottage" is perhaps the most indicative of what Vensaire is capable of: a three-movement creation that rises above the simple looping structure of most sample-based songs, slowing to a delicate acoustic middle section before climaxing in resounding group vocals. Perdix ends as it began, allowing the record to be looped ad infinitum- yet another example of Vensaire's clarity of vision and execution.


Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Reddit users have fun photoshopping an angry Jack White at a Cubs game
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Kliff Kingsbury reads a series of flattering tweets praising his good looks
    Today's Buzz
  • Jamaal Charles
    Kansas City Chiefs make Jamaal Charles the second highest paid running back in NFL
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Nikki Bella
    How will fans react if the WWE decides to turn Nikki Bella into a heel?
    5 Photos