Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Relationships
  3. Sex & Relationships

'Broken Side of Time' and 'The Sarnos: A Life in Dirty Movies' top CineKink NYC

See also

You've heard the results of the Oscars, but did you know that the 11th annual CineKink NYC film festival awards were also presented on Sunday? Director Gorman Bechard's Broken Side of Time took Audience Choice honors for Best Narrative Feature, and Swedish director Wiktor Ericsson's The Sarnos: A Life in Dirty Movies won the Audience Choice award for Best Documentary Feature. Creamy Coconut and Quinn Cassidy's De-Railed won the Bring It! award, after appearing in the festival's annual adult cinema showcase.

More Photos

Broken Side of Time, starring Lynn Mancinelli as a nude model-turned photographer, closed the festival program on Saturday. From the festival program:

Combining real photo shoots using actual photographers, and a narrative based on some of their real-life adventures in front of the lens, this is a uniquely creative behind-the-scenes glimpse at a little-known world.

Here's the program description for The Sarnos: A Life in Dirty Movies, via

A love story about legendary sexploitation director Joe Sarno, “the Ingmar Bergman of 42nd Street,” and his wife and collaborator Peggy.

Following the couple for a year, as 88-year old Joe struggles to get a new project off the ground, the film’s intimate perspective reveals a filmmaker’s golden years and a quest for significance, while providing a look back at the evolution of softcore films into the hardcore porn that all but put the Sarnos out of business.

There was a tie in the Best Short category, with Dear Jiz (starring genderqueer performer Jiz Lee and directed by Ms. Naughty, aka Louise Lush) and Trains (starring Dylan Ryan and Lily Cade and directed by Paul Deeb) sharing the honor. Angela Tucker's Black Folk Don't: Do BDSM won Best Documentary Short, Miranda Bailey's Another Happy Anniversary won Best Comedy Short, and Christophe Predari's Chaleur Humain won Best Dramatic Short.

CineKink Honorable Mention nods went to JM Darling's Un Bisous Americain, Todd Verow and Charles Lumi's Tom's Gift, and Anna Brownfield's Music Box.