Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Sports
  3. Soccer

Brazil and Paraguay breeze into FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014

See also

Brazil and Paraguay have qualified for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014 tournament.

Both sides were perfect with six points apiece after two group matches to nail down South America’s top two spots in the 2014 CONMEBOL Women’s Under-20 Championship in Uruguay.

On Jan. 25, Brazil won 3-0 over Bolivia while Paraguay won 1-0 over Colombia. On Jan. 28, Brazil won 6-0 over Colombia while Paraguay won 5-0 over Bolivia.

Brazil and Paraguay became the 14th and 15th teams to qualify for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014, which means only spot remains vacant on the road to the 16-team biennial competition.

The two countries will still meet tomorrow in the CONMEBOL group finale to determine a continental winner.

The last spot in the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014 will be secured at the Oceania Women’s Under-20 Championship from Feb. 18-22 in New Zealand. That’s when Tonga, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Vanuatu will settle matters in their zone.

Brazil has now qualified for all seven editions of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup, starting with the inaugural edition in Canada in 2002.

Paraguay, meanwhile, has qualified for the tournament for the first time. The nation had previously qualified for two editions of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup, including this year’s Costa Rica 2014 edition in March.

The FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Canada 2014 runs Aug. 5-24 in Edmonton, Toronto, Montreal and Moncton. The 32-match biennial tournament is the premier event for women's youth footballers.

FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada


Today's top buzz...

  • Coachella
    The set times you need to know have been announced for Coachella
    Festival Buzz
  • Lamar Odom
    The New York Knicks are giving Lamar Odom another shot in the NBA
    NBA Buzz
  • Porsha Williams
    See why 'Real Housewives of Atlanta' star Porsha Williams posed for this mug shot
    TV News
  • NHL tickets
    If you're looking to catch an NHL playoff game in NYC, don't expect to do so on a budget
    NHL Buzz
  • Transcendence
    Review: ‘Transcendence’ fascinates, but does it rise above the field?
    Movies Buzz
  • Kobe Bryant
    Kobe Bryant has agreed to cooperate with an all-access documentary about his life
    Sports Buzz

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!