Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Bradley draws Tiger at Memorial (video)

Keegan Bradley, coming off a runner-up finish at the Byron Nelson Championship earlier this month, landed Tiger Woods as a playing partner for the first two rounds of this week’s Memorial Tournament.

Keegan Bradley (l.) will play the first two rounds of the 2013 Memorial Tournament with Tiger Woods (r.)
Getty Images

Bradley will also play alongside Fred Couples on Thursday and Friday, going off the first tee in the opener at 1:16 p.m. ET. The Vermont-bred 2011 PGA champ leads a robust New England presence at the tourney that Woods won last year after sinking his “might go in might go in might go in” chip shot that Nicklaus gushed was “one of the most incredible golf shots…you’ll ever see.”

Also in the field are other New England natives as well as a slew with ties to the six-state region. James Driscoll, who pledged $15,000 to aid those affected by the Boston Marathon bombing through his “Birdies for Boston” campaign, will play Thursday (8:48 a.m. off No. 10) and Friday with Luke Guthrie and Brian Harman.

J.J. Henry, who has displayed solidarity with his Newtown, Conn., brethren after the horrific massacre at Sandy Hook Elementary School, has a Thursday golf date with Mark Wilson and Justin Leonard, the hero of the 1999 Ryder Cup played at The Country Club in Brookline, Mass. The trio will go off the 10th tee at 7:53 a.m. in the first round.

Scott Stallings, a product of Worcester, Mass., who posted a T4 at last week’s Crowne Plaza Invitational, will go off the 10th tee on Thursday at 8:37 a.m. with Derek Ernst and Kyle Stanley.

Others in the talent-laden Memorial field of 120 have strong connections to New England. Two-time Deutsche Bank Championship winner (2004, 2008) and deer antler spray aficionado, Vijay Singh, will go off the first tee at 1:27 p.m. with Ted Potter Jr. and Trevor Immelman. Reigning U.S. Open titleholder and 2011 TPC Boston winner Webb Simpson will tee off No. 1 at 1:05 p.m. with Matt Kuchar and Hunter Mahan, while Charley Hoffman (winner of the 2010 DBC) has a 12:21 p.m. tee time off the 10th with Bo Van Pelt and Chris Stroud.

Click here for a complete roster of Memorial Tournament tee times.


Report this ad