Skip to main content
  1. Arts & Entertainment
  2. Books

Bozeman author Keith McCafferty signs latest book in Bozeman

See also

On Tuesday evening at 7 pm, January 14, Bozeman author Keith McCafferty will be at the Country Bookshelf to sign his latest book in the Sean Stranahan mystery series, Dead Man's Fancy. This is the third novel in the series, following The Royal Wulff Murders and The Gray Ghost Murders.

McCafferty is an award-winning survival editor of Field & Stream magazine and has received endorsements from the Oprah Winfrey Book Club for The Gray Ghost Murders ("Five Addictive New Mysteries We Can't Put Down").

Dead Man's Fancy received a red star review from Publisher's Weekly.

Described as a wonderful Montana mystery starring fly fisherman-cum-detective Sean Stranahan, this series is sure to appeal to fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.

Wolves howl as a riderless horse returns at sunset to the Culpepper Dude Ranch in the Madison Valley. The missing woman, Nanika Martinelli, is better known as the Fly Fishing Venus, a red-haired river guide who lures clients the way dry flies draw trout.

As Sheriff Martha Ettinger follows hoof tracks in the snow, she finds one of the men who has fallen under the temptress's spell impaled on the antler tine of a giant bull elk, a kill that's been claimed by a wolf pack. An accident? If not, is the killer human or animal? With painter, fly fisherman, and sometimes private detective Sean Stranahan's help, Ettinger will follow clues that point to an animal rights group called the Clan of the Three-Clawed Wolf and to their Svengali master, whose eyes blaze with pagan fire.

In their most dangerous adventure yet, Stranahan and Ettinger find themselves in the crossfire of wolf lovers, wolf haters, a sister bent on revenge, and on the trail of an alpha male gone terribly wrong.

Published by Viking, this hardcover book is 316 pages, $26.95. McCafferty's blog, The Deadwater Blog, covers topics from fly-tying to his writing experiences.

Keith McCafferty will be a featured speaker at the Get Published Conference for Writers in Bozeman on May 17th.

Advertisement

Arts & Entertainment

  • Ted Nugent
    Ted Nugent concert at Native American casino canceled because of obvious reasons
    Headlines
  • Fifty Shades of Grey
    The first 'Fifty Shades of Grey' trailer has been released, leaving fans wanting more
    Video
    Movies Buzz
  • Music festivals
    150 years of major American music festivals are rooted in Rhode Island
    Camera
    17 Photos
  • Billy Corgan
    Billy Corgan receives Vanguard Awards at AMPAs in Cleveland
    Camera
    13 Photos
  • Celebrity tattoos
    We're not sure what some of these celebrities were thinking when they decided to get inked
    Camera
    23 Photos
  • John Stamos
    John Stamos talks about love, life and being tired of Uncle Jesse
    Video
    Today's Buzz