Skip to main content
  1. Arts & Entertainment
  2. Books

Bozeman author Keith McCafferty signs latest book in Bozeman

See also

On Tuesday evening at 7 pm, January 14, Bozeman author Keith McCafferty will be at the Country Bookshelf to sign his latest book in the Sean Stranahan mystery series, Dead Man's Fancy. This is the third novel in the series, following The Royal Wulff Murders and The Gray Ghost Murders.

McCafferty is an award-winning survival editor of Field & Stream magazine and has received endorsements from the Oprah Winfrey Book Club for The Gray Ghost Murders ("Five Addictive New Mysteries We Can't Put Down").

Dead Man's Fancy received a red star review from Publisher's Weekly.

Described as a wonderful Montana mystery starring fly fisherman-cum-detective Sean Stranahan, this series is sure to appeal to fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.

Wolves howl as a riderless horse returns at sunset to the Culpepper Dude Ranch in the Madison Valley. The missing woman, Nanika Martinelli, is better known as the Fly Fishing Venus, a red-haired river guide who lures clients the way dry flies draw trout.

As Sheriff Martha Ettinger follows hoof tracks in the snow, she finds one of the men who has fallen under the temptress's spell impaled on the antler tine of a giant bull elk, a kill that's been claimed by a wolf pack. An accident? If not, is the killer human or animal? With painter, fly fisherman, and sometimes private detective Sean Stranahan's help, Ettinger will follow clues that point to an animal rights group called the Clan of the Three-Clawed Wolf and to their Svengali master, whose eyes blaze with pagan fire.

In their most dangerous adventure yet, Stranahan and Ettinger find themselves in the crossfire of wolf lovers, wolf haters, a sister bent on revenge, and on the trail of an alpha male gone terribly wrong.

Published by Viking, this hardcover book is 316 pages, $26.95. McCafferty's blog, The Deadwater Blog, covers topics from fly-tying to his writing experiences.

Keith McCafferty will be a featured speaker at the Get Published Conference for Writers in Bozeman on May 17th.

Advertisement

Arts & Entertainment

  • La Toya Jackson
    La Toya Jackson hits the club in music video for 'Feels Like Love'
    Headlines
  • Keith Urban
    Dozens of concertgoers were treated for alcohol-related illnesses at a Keith Urban show
    Video
    Today's Buzz
  • Comic-Con
    Check out some of the sexiest women on hand at this year's Comic-Con
    Camera
    20 Photos
  • The Hunger Games
    The trailer for 'The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1' has debuted online
    Camera
    17 Photos
  • Beck
    Beck makes good on their long absence from St. Louis with a two hour set
    Camera
    17 Photos
  • Wonder Woman
    Take an in-depth look at the hot new costume we'll be seeing on Wonder Woman
    Video
    Pop Culture