Skip to main content
  1. Arts & Entertainment
  2. Books

Bozeman author Keith McCafferty signs latest book in Bozeman

See also

On Tuesday evening at 7 pm, January 14, Bozeman author Keith McCafferty will be at the Country Bookshelf to sign his latest book in the Sean Stranahan mystery series, Dead Man's Fancy. This is the third novel in the series, following The Royal Wulff Murders and The Gray Ghost Murders.

McCafferty is an award-winning survival editor of Field & Stream magazine and has received endorsements from the Oprah Winfrey Book Club for The Gray Ghost Murders ("Five Addictive New Mysteries We Can't Put Down").

Dead Man's Fancy received a red star review from Publisher's Weekly.

Described as a wonderful Montana mystery starring fly fisherman-cum-detective Sean Stranahan, this series is sure to appeal to fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.

Wolves howl as a riderless horse returns at sunset to the Culpepper Dude Ranch in the Madison Valley. The missing woman, Nanika Martinelli, is better known as the Fly Fishing Venus, a red-haired river guide who lures clients the way dry flies draw trout.

As Sheriff Martha Ettinger follows hoof tracks in the snow, she finds one of the men who has fallen under the temptress's spell impaled on the antler tine of a giant bull elk, a kill that's been claimed by a wolf pack. An accident? If not, is the killer human or animal? With painter, fly fisherman, and sometimes private detective Sean Stranahan's help, Ettinger will follow clues that point to an animal rights group called the Clan of the Three-Clawed Wolf and to their Svengali master, whose eyes blaze with pagan fire.

In their most dangerous adventure yet, Stranahan and Ettinger find themselves in the crossfire of wolf lovers, wolf haters, a sister bent on revenge, and on the trail of an alpha male gone terribly wrong.

Published by Viking, this hardcover book is 316 pages, $26.95. McCafferty's blog, The Deadwater Blog, covers topics from fly-tying to his writing experiences.

Keith McCafferty will be a featured speaker at the Get Published Conference for Writers in Bozeman on May 17th.

Advertisement

Arts & Entertainment

  • Miley Cyrus
    Find out why Miley Cyrus was forced to cancel a Kansas City 'Bangerz' show
    Video
    Today's Buzz
  • Kim Kardashian
    Watch Kim Kardashian transform from socialite to one of Hollywood's hottest moms
    Camera
    Celebrity Buzz
  • X-Men
    The final trailer for 'X-Men: Days of Future Past' is here, and it's marvelous
    Movie Buzz
  • Woman mugged
    A woman is mugged on live TV during a segment discussing the crime rate
    Pop Culture
  • Clint Lowery
    Exclusive: Clint Lowery talks about the new acoustic Sevendust album and much more
    Celebrity Q&A
  • Jermaine Jackson
    Jermaine Jackson shuts down filming of 'Celebrity Wife Swap' over hoarding accusations
    Video
    TV Buzz

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about Examiner.com and apply today!