Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Sports
  3. NFL

Bowman receives no votes for NFL Defensive Player of the Year

See also

It was announced that Carolina Panthers LB Luke Kuechly won the NFL Defensive Player of the Year Award on Saturday night, but there was something more controversial in the voting results.

San Francisco 49ers linebacker NaVorro Bowman received zero votes for the award, after he had a spectacular season being named an All-Pro selection for 2013.

Kuechly had 156 tackles, which was good for fourth in the NFL. He also had two sacks, seven passes defended and four interceptions for the season. One of his most notable performances was in Week 16 against the New Orleans Saints where he had 24 tackles and an interception. The Panthers would eventually win the low scoring battle as New Orleans was held to 13 points.

Bowman had 145 tackles, five sacks, two interceptions and nine passes defended. From the national NFL audience, he is remembered for having an 89-yard interception returned for a touchdown against Atlanta Falcons in Week 16 on Monday Night Football. In his fourth season, the 49ers linebacker was all over the field from stopping the run to dropping back in coveraeg.

Indianapolis Colts LB Robert Mathis was another candidate who had a strong case to win the award. Mathis led the league with 19.5 sacks in 2013.

Here are how the votes were tallied, according to Tim Booth.

NFL Defensive Player of the Year Votes:

1. Carolina Panthers LB Luke Kuechly: 19 votes

2. Indianapolis Colts LB Robert Mathis: 11.5 votes

3. Seattle Seahawks S Earl Thomas: 7.5 votes

4. St. Louis Rams DE Robert Quinn: 6 votes

5. Seattle Seahawks CB Richard Sherman: 4 votes

6. Houston Texans DE J.J. Watt: 2 votes


Today's top buzz...

  • Coachella
    The set times you need to know have been announced for Coachella
    Festival Buzz
  • Lamar Odom
    The New York Knicks are giving Lamar Odom another shot in the NBA
    NBA Buzz
  • Porsha Williams
    See why 'Real Housewives of Atlanta' star Porsha Williams posed for this mug shot
    TV News
  • NHL tickets
    If you're looking to catch an NHL playoff game in NYC, don't expect to do so on a budget
    NHL Buzz
  • Transcendence
    Review: ‘Transcendence’ fascinates, but does it rise above the field?
    Movies Buzz
  • Kobe Bryant
    Kobe Bryant has agreed to cooperate with an all-access documentary about his life
    Sports Buzz

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!