Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Bowman announced as only first team All-Pro member; teammates honor him too

NaVorro Bowman
NaVorro Bowman
Photo by Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

NaVorro Bowman became the only 49ers player on the first-team All-Pro team on Friday morning. He also won the Len Eshmont Award, which is one of the highest awards from the team itself.

Joe Staley, Ahmad Brooks, Justin Smith and Vernon Davis were named to the All-Pro second team. Davis' 13 touchdowns was the most on the team this season. This was the first time Patrick Willis did not make the All-Pro team after being on the first or second teams his first seven seasons.

Panthers linebacker Luke Kuechly was the other first-team selection while Cincinnati Bengals LB Vontaze Burfict, the league leader in tackles and Arizona linebacker Karlos Dansby were on the second team.

Here are the team awards that the 49ers announced this morning:

Len Eshmont Award: LB NaVorro Bowman

The Len Eshmont Award is voted on by the players and is given to the 49er who best exemplifies the inspirational and courageous play of Len Eshmont, an original member of the 1946 49ers team. Eshmont, who coached at Navy and Virginia following his career in San Francisco, died in 1957. The award was established that year.

Bill Walsh Award: WR Anquan Boldin

The Bill Walsh Award was established in 2004 in honor of San Francisco’s Hall of Fame Head Coach. Walsh served as the team’s head coach for 10 seasons from 1979-88. In that time, he compiled a record of 102-63-1 and led the team to three Super Bowls. He was twice named Coach of the Year (1981, 1984) and was later named Coach of the Decade for the 1980s. The award, which is voted on by coaches, is given to the 49ers team MVP, honoring his outstanding individual performance.

Bobb McKittrick Award: G/T Alex Boone

The Bobb McKittrick Award is given annually to the 49ers offensive lineman who best represents the courage, intensity and sacrifice displayed by the longtime offensive line coach, during his 21 years of service to the 49ers. The award was established by the 49ers in 1999, and is voted on by the offensive line.

Hazeltine Iron Man Award: DT Justin Smith

The Hazeltine Iron Man Award is named for former linebacker Matt Hazeltine, a 13-year performer who played more seasons at linebacker than any other 49ers player. Known for his durability and dedication, Hazeltine passed away in 1987 from ALS, and Bill Walsh established the award in his honor that year. The award is given annually to the most courageous and inspirational defensive player as voted upon by the defensive coaches.

Thomas Herrion Memorial Award: S Eric Reid

Thomas Herrion Memorial Award was established in 2005 by 49ers owners Denise and John York and is presented to a rookie or first-year player who best represents the dream of Thomas Herrion. The recipient has taken advantage of every opportunity, turned it into a positive situation and made their dream turn into a reality. The award is voted on by the coaches.

Blue Collar Players of the Year (voted on by the players and coaches)

Defense: Glenn Dorsey

Offense: Frank Gore

Special Teams: Bubba Ventrone

Report this ad