Skip to main content
Report this ad

Book spotlight (Fantasy Fiction): The Dragonlance Chronicles by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

Dragons of Autumn Twilight - Book 1 of the Chronicles Trilogy by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman
Dragons of Autumn Twilight - Book 1 of the Chronicles Trilogy by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman
photo from

 The Dragonlance Chronicles are a long, involved series set in the fantasy world of Krynn. Originally developed as a world for the popular role-playing game Dungeons and Dragons, The Dragonlance Chronicles features a huge variety of characters and races, all with their own positive and negative qualities which ultimately align them with the good, the neutral, or the evil powers in the world. Over the course of the series, it grew and morphed as other authors added on to the world with their own chraracters and ideas; however, the core of the Chronicles still remains undeniably Weis and Hickman's creation.

The central trilogy of the expansive series is known as The Chronicles Trilogy, written by Weis and Hickman. This is where you meet the core group of characters who adventure through many of the other trilogies, and are referenced in later novels as heroes of the past.

The plot is good but somewhat static - very much like the characters. They all grow and develop with each additional novel but nothing is presented as a truly "life-altering" state for any one of them. However, while this is a downside to reading the novels, it is understandable from the perspective of the Dungeons and Dragons gameplay - with this role-playing game, it is essential to have models that are, for the most part, unchanging, to base characters off from when organizing a campaign.

There is definitely still merit in reading the Dragonlance Chronicles - just be aware that it was developed from a different perspective than most novels and that the story, while very engrossing, can be a bit predictable at times. Nevertheless, Weis and Hickman's Chronicles are a well-known favorite for many die-hard fantasy fans.

To find your own copy, order it from, head to the Midland Mall and look for Barnes & Noble, or look on B& for the ebook version.

Trivia Question: Who cursed Raistlin with his hourglass eyes, and why?


  • aslindy 5 years ago

    This is a very interesting series - I really enjoyed this trilogy the most.
    Our copies are well worn. =)

  • Dagda 5 years ago

    I read these early in high school and still love them today. I own the extensions of them as well. I also own short stories edited by W & H but I don't like them that much because I get enticed and then its over. Great Review!

  • Melody 5 years ago

    I've thought about reading these books before, but I've always shied away from them because I wasn't sure how good they would be. Perhaps it's time to give them a try.

  • Kylandra 5 years ago

    I've read many of these books and enjoyed them quite a bit. It really is a never ending series. If you're into fantasy at all these books are a great read.

  • SarahLindesmith 5 years ago

    Kylandra: never-ending is exactly it. But, it was started for a D&D campaign, so I suppose that's a good thing... and other authors are getting on board and writing their own add-ons (similar to the Forgotten Realms series by R. A. Salvatore... and also another series that has ties to D&D).

    aslindy: the trilogy was my favorite, too. The books are all so intense that it was hard for me to remember that I was reading fiction and not in the middle of a different and very real world. This is a mark of good writing, so I was glad about that, but it made everything much more dramatic - and when you're already overly-attached to characters like I am, it makes reading more difficult when the series starts to break form with itself and change the characters or eliminated them for no apparent reason. Ah well.

Report this ad