Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Bobby Bradley is 2014 Arizona League MVP

Bobby Bradley takes a cut in an Arizona League game in Surprise on the Fourth of July.
Bill Mitchell

First baseman Bobby Bradley has been named the Most Valuable Player of the rookie level Arizona League. Bradley was a 2014 third-round pick by the Cleveland Indians out of Harrison Central High School (Gulfport, MS). The 18-year-old dominated the Arizona League by winning the circuit’s triple crown with league leading totals in batting average (.361), home runs (8), and RBI (50). Bradley helped lead the Indians (Goodyear) to a league-best 37-16 record and a berth in the AZL championship game against the Giants to be played on Labor Day at Goodyear Stadium. First pitch is 7 p.m.

Indians manager Anthony Medrano was named as the AZL Manager of the Year. Medrano, who played 14 minor league seasons, is in his fourth season as manager of the Arizona League club. He posted a 89-79 mark over his first three seasons.

The hometown Arizona Diamondbacks AZL affiliate placed three players on the All-Star Team; 2B Henry Castillo; OF Matthew McPhearson; and RHP Yefrey Ramirez.

The Arizona League consists of 13 teams that play at spring training complexes in the greater Phoenix area and is completing its 26th season.


1B – Bobby Bradley, Arizona Indians (Cleveland Indians)

2B – (tie) Henry Castillo, Arizona Diamondbacks (Arizona Diamondbacks)

Josh Morgan, Arizona Rangers (Texas Rangers)

3B – Gavin LaValley, Goodyear Reds (Cincinnati Reds)

SS – Yu-Cheng Chang, Arizona Indians (Cleveland Indians)

DH – Fran Whitten, Tempe Angels (Los Angeles Angels)

Catcher – Sherman Lacrus, Arizona Rangers (Texas Rangers)

OF – Alex Verdugo, Arizona Dodgers (Los Angeles Dodgers)

OF – Michael Gettys, Peoria Padres (San Diego Padres)

OF – Matthew McPhearson, Arizona Diamondbacks (Arizona Diamondbacks)

LP – Thomas Pannone, Arizona Indians (Cleveland Indians)

RP – Yefrey Ramirez, Arizona Diamondbacks (Arizona Diamondbacks)

L Relief – Joe Palumbo, Arizona Rangers (Texas Rangers)

R Relief – Ronald Dominguez, Peoria Mariners (Seattle Mariners)

Manager of the Year – Anthony Medrano, Arizona Indians (Cleveland Indians)

Most Valuable Player – Bobby Bradley, Arizona Indians (Cleveland Indians)

Report this ad