Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

BMI’s Del Bryant to receive SongHall’s Visionary Leadership Award

Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI) president Del Bryant will get the Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF) Visionary Leadership Award at the 45th Annual SHOF Induction and Awards Dinner on June 12 at New York’s Marriott Marquis Hotel.

Del Bryant
Courtesy of Songwriters Hall of Fame

The award recognizes a member of the Songwriters Hall of Fame Board of Directors who has made a significant contribution in furthering the ongoing mission of the organization, and in elevating the SHOF to a level of prominence and distinction.

Bryant will become the only recipient of the award so far besides the late SHOF chairman emeritus Hal David, who received the inaugural one. He is the son of legendary songwriters and publishers Boudleaux and Felice Bryant, who were the first two professional songwriters in Nashville and penned such classic hits as "Bye Bye Love," "Wake Up Little Susie," "All I Have To Do Is Dream," "Love Hurts," and the Tennessee state song, "Rocky Top."

"Born into songwriting royalty and a songwriter himself, Del has spent a lifetime championing songwriters," said SHOF president/CEO Linda Moran, in announcing the award this morning.

Moran added: "In the past decade, Del's personal and professional contributions as a dedicated senior vice president of the Board of Directors of the Songwriters Hall of Fame have enabled us to achieve our early goals and to continue to expand the ongoing mission of the organization."

Bryant became president/CEO of BMI in 2004, and currently serves as president of the American performing rights organization that represents over 600,000 songwriters, composers and music publishers in all genres of music and more than 8.5 million musical works. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the SHOF, BMI, CISAC, the Broadcasters Foundation of America and the Blair School of Music, and is a board member and former chairman of FastTrack, as well as a member of the Broadcast and Cable Hall of Fame.

This year’s SHOF inductees are Ray Davies, Donovan, Graham Gouldman, Mark James and Jim Weatherly.

In addition, the legendary songwriting team of Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff, a.k.a. Gamble and Huff, will receive the prestigious Johnny Mercer Award, while music industry executive Doug Morris will receive the Howie Richmond Hitmaker Award. Dan Reynolds of Imagine Dragons will receive the Hal David Starlight Award.

The SHOF is dedicated to recognizing the work and lives of composers and lyricists who create popular music around the world. Besides celebrating songwriters, it educates the public with regard to their achievements, and produces professional programs devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.

[The Examiner contributes to the SHOF newsletter.]

Subscribe to my pages and website and follow me on Twitter @JimBessman!

Report this ad