Skip to main content
Report this ad

Best Engineered Album Category, 52nd Annual Grammy Awards

The 52nd Annual Grammy Awards will be aired on CBS this Sunday, January 31st. The Grammy Awards are one of the few awards that recognize recording engineers.  Of the over one hundred categories, there is one that recognizes recording engineers of non-classical records.

The award for Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical began in 1959.  Some of the greatest engineers and some of the greatest albums of all time have taken home this honor.  Here are a few of the highlights from this awards past.

  • 1965 - Phil Ramone wins the award for 'Getz/Gilberto' recorded by Stan Getz & Joao Gilberto
  • 1968 - Geoff Emerick wins the award for 'Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band' recorded by The Beatles
  • 1969 - Hugh Davies & Joe Polito win the award for 'Wichita Lineman' recorded by Glen Campbell
  • 1970 - Geoff Emerick & Phil McDonald win the award for 'Abbey Road' recorded by The Beatles
  • 1971 - Roy Halee wins the award for 'Bridge Over Troubled Water' recorded by Simon and Garfunkel
  • 1977 - Al Schmitt wins the award for 'Breezin' recorded by George Benson
  • 1978 - Al Schmitt, Bill Schnee, Elliot Scheiner & Roger Nichols win the award for 'Aja' recorded by Steely Dan
  • 1984 - Bruce Swedien wins the award for 'Thriller' recorded by Michael Jackson
  • 1986 - Neil Dorfsman wins the award for 'Brothers in Arms' recorded by Dire Straits
  • 1990 - George Massenburg wins the award for 'Cry Like a Rainstorm, Howl Like the Wind' recorded by Linda Ronstadt
  • 1998 - Frank Filipetti wins the award for 'Hourglass' recorded by James Taylor
  • 2002 - Al Schmitt wins the award for 'The Look Of Love' recorded by Diana Krall
  • 2009 - Vance Powell, Joe Chiccarelli and Jack White win the award for 'Consolers of the Lonely' recorded by The Raconteurs

The nominees this year for Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical are:

  • Ellipse - Imogen Heap, engineer (Imoden Heap)
  • Gossip In The Grain - Ethan Johns & Dominic Monks, engineers (Ray LaMontagne)
  • My One And Only Thrill - Helik Hadar & Al Schmitt, engineers (Melody Gardot)
  • Safe Trip Home - Jon Brion, Grippa, Greg Koller & Jim Scott, engineers (Dido)
  • Swan Feathers - Richard Alderson, Chris Allen, Roman Klun, Lawrence Manchester, Rob Mounsey, Jay Newland, Gene Paul, Jamie Polaski & Gordie Sampson, engineer (Leslie Mendelson)

Catch the Grammy Awards on CBS this Sunday, January 31 at 8pm ET/PT.


Report this ad