Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Bee A Magician named Horse of the Year

See also

Bee A Magician was named the 2013 Horse of the Year by the U.S. Harness Writer’s Association at the Dan Patch Awards banquet, Feb. 23, at Dover Downs.

The 3-year-old daughter of Kadabra-Beehive-Balanced Image is the 31st trotter and 11th female to be named Horse of the Year, and the sixth undefeated Horse of the Year in history.

Trained by Nifty Norman and driven by Brian Sears, Bee A Magician was also the fastest sophomore trotter of 2013, with a world record 1:51 clocking. She was also named 2013 Trotter of the Year.

Owned by Melvin Hartman, Herb Liverman and Dave McDuffy, Bee A Magician has the most starts (17) of any undefeated Horse of the Year since 1964 when Bret Hanover went unbeaten in 24 seasonal starts.

Bee A Magician also posted the richest season ever by a female trotter, earning $368,000 more than Continentalvictory—who was also Horse of the Year—did in 1996 when she earned $1.178 million. And, in her final start of the year in the $253,000 Moni Maker Stake, Bee A Magician’s victory there saw her surpass the great filly Moni Maker on the all-time earnings list. She earned $1,547,304 in 2013, while Moni Maker earned $1,494,972 in 1999.

CR Kay Suzie was the last filly to be named the fastest sophomore of the year (1995) and before that, it was the mighty Peace Corps in 1989—both were clocked in 1:52.4. The last time the sport witnessed an undefeated a 3-year-old trotting filly was in 2001, when Syrinx Hanover won 12 of 12 starts.

In the last 37 years, every Horse of the Year has competed at the Meadowlands—the one common thread among all of these 37 Horses of the Year during their crowning seasons.

In 30 career starts, Bee A Magician has 27 wins, one second and one win, with $2,313,956 in lifetime earnings.



  • The New York Yankees turn the first triple play of the 2014 season
    Watch Video
  • A big third period from the Rangers propel them past Philly in Game 1
  • Donovan McNabb serves time in jail stemming from a December DUI
    NFL News
  • Interview with Bernard Hopkins: 'I'm from Mars, but I fight here on Earth'
  • Are you as excited as LeBron about the NBA Playoffs? We seriously doubt it
  • New details have emerged about the friendly-fire incident that killed Pat Tillman
    Watch Video

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!