Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Baltimore Mariners win the 2014 AIFL championship

See also

Fayetteville, NC,:- Baltimore's defense came through for another championship that will return to charm city with the team. The Baltimore Mariners are the 2014 AIFL champions after coming from behind over the Cape Fear Heroes to win 45-44 at the Crown Coliseum.

Being behind most of the night, the Mariners kept their focus and sparked a fourth quarter comeback when, defensive back Matthew Hnatiuk intercepted a pass, running it back 42 yards for a touchdown. The game had gone back and fourth and ended with an amazing defensive stand by the Mariners.

The game ended with Baltimore in Cape Fear territory with 11.3 seconds remaining in the game. QB Richard Johnson, the back up to Tom Clancy, who went down with an injury threw a 9-yard touchdown to Anson Yarbough for the win.

This is the second championship for this franchise and a great and exciting victory for Scott Garrity and Tom Conserette.