gluten free carrot cake, made in a 100% gluten-free kitchen.
It's time for a review of the gluten-free basics in restaurants. Keep in mind the old battle hymn, "when it comes to restaurants, there are no guarantees." That means we all must think before we bite.
I guess it comes down to knowing your own self. Some people are super-sensitive to the tiniest bit of gluten; some are hardly affected at all. But, unless a restaurant or caterer is 100% gluten free, meaning no ingredients containing gluten ever enter the premises, you can never be completely safe, even in restaurants that feature a "gluten-free menu". Those items are still being prepared in a kitchen where wheat flour is present. Use common sense, and know your ingredients. Keep in mind that many sauces use flour as a thickener; so do many soups. Most salad dressings are thickened with wheat flour, and may contain other ingredients that you may not really want to eat. Desserts are often a no-no. If you want a dessert, it's probably best to keep it simple, for example, most ice creams are naturally gluten-free (watch out for those globs of cookie dough!). Of course, the best practice is to stick with the simple, unadulterated items on any menu. Those are usually the most nutritious items as well.
These observations are based on seven years of living a gluten-free life, and eating in restaurants all the time. Only you can decide what is right for you to eat.