Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Award season continues with the CFDA Fashion Award nominees


Award season may be over in Hollywood, but in Fashion the circle just "keeps on keeping on".

The CFDA Fashion Awards are a fashion institution. It is an evening that not only celebrates all generations of American design talent, but also reinforces our industry’s growing influence across the globe. Earlier this week Nadja Swarovski, Von Furstenberg and CFDA CEO Steven Kolb made the announcements of nominees and honorees.

The nominees listed by category can be seen below:

For The Womenswear Designer of the Year Award, the nominees are: Alexander Wang, Joseph Altuzarra of Altuzarra, and Marc Jacobs.

For The Menswear Designer of the Year, the nominees are: Maxwell Osborne & Dao-Yi Chow for Public School, Marcus Wainwright & David Neville for Rag & Bone, and Thom Browne.

For The Accessories Designer of the Year Award, the nominees are: Alexander Wang, Lazaro Hernandez & Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler, and Mary-Kate Olsen & Ashley Olsen for The Row.

For The Swarovski Award for Womenswear, the nominees are: Shane Gabier & Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind, Rosie Assoulin, and Wes Gordon.

For The Swarovski Award for Menswear, the nominees for are: Tim Coppens, Todd Snyder, and Shayne Oliver for Hood by Air.

For the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design, the nominees are: Irene Neuwirth, Jennifer Fisher, and Marc Alary.

The Swarovski Award recipients in each category will receive generous financial support from Swarovski as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative Swarovski crystal resources. Swarovski has a long-lasting and ongoing mission to support emerging talent in the fashion industry, this year being the thirteenth consecutive year of their partnership with the CFDA.


In addition The Honorary Awards go to a diverse group of fashion luminaries.

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the fiercely independent, four-time CFDA Fashion Award winner, will be presented to Tom Ford.

The Media Award, given in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, the influential journalist who revolutionized fashion reporting during her time at the New York City Herald Tribune, will be given to Paul Cavaco.

The Founders Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert who is widely credited with putting American fashion on the map, will go to Bethann Hardison.

The Board of Director’s Tribute Award goes to Ruth Finley for her indelible contributions to the world fashion.

The International Award will go to Raf Simons for his creative contribution to the international fashion stage.

Nominations for each award category are submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Guild, made up of the 450+ members of the CFDA, along with top fashion retailers, journalists, and stylists.

This year, Intel has signed on as the Official Technology Sponsor and MAC Cosmetics is the Official Beauty Sponsor.

Returning sponsors include:

Lexus, Official Automotive Sponsor

Veuve Clicquot, Official Champagne Sponsor

Proximo, Official Spirits Sponsor

The final votes will be tabulated by Ernst & Young LLP, the official accounting firm of the 2014 CFDA Fashion Awards.

The 2014 CFDA Fashion Awards will be produced by KCD PR. Film director and screenwriter John Waters will host this year’s Awards.

Collateral will be art directed by Laird + Partners.

This year’s nominees and honorees represent the best and most creative talent of the past year as determined by a Guild of their peers. In collaboration with Swarovski, the 2014 CFDA Fashion Awards will take place on Monday, June 2nd at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall.

Report this ad