Skip to main content
Report this ad

Avs Matt Duchene named finalist for Calder Trophy

Avs Matt Duchene and Brandon Yip celebrate goal
Avs Matt Duchene and Brandon Yip celebrate goal
AP Photo Paul Sakuma

The National Hockey League announced the three finalists for the 2010 Calder Trophy, which is presented to the top first-year player, i.e Rookie of the Year.

The winner will be announced June 23rd during the 2010 NHL Awards ceremony, which will be held at the Pearl Concert Theatre in the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas. The ceremony will be televised on Versus.

The three finalists are:

Matt Duchene Colorado Avalanche

The 19 year old led all NHL rookies in scoring with 24 goals and 31 assists for 55 points. He was second on the club in goals and led the Avs in power play goals with 10.

Tyler Myers Buffalo Sabres

This 6'8" defenseman led all NHL rookies in average ice time and assists and was second in plus-minus.

JImmy Howard Detroit Red Wings

After spending four years with the Wings AHL farm team Howard took the Wings starting goalie job from Chris Osgood and showed that he deserved it. His 37-15-10 record was eighth among all NHL goalies.

The Colorado / Quebec organization has had three players win the Calder Trophy:

Peter Stsstny, father of current Av Paul Stastny, won it for Quebec in 1981. 

Peter Forsberg won it for Quebec in 1995

Chris Drury won it for Colorado in 1999.


Report this ad