Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Austin-based indie rock band Spoon to release new album "Transference" on Jan. 19

The artwork for Spoon's new album "Transference"

The Austin-based indie-rock band Spoon ( is getting ready to release its seventh studio album, entitled "Transference", on Jan. 19. This will be the group's fifth release for the independent label Merge Records, which is based out of Durham, North Carolina (

In 2003 Spoon really lit their spark nationally thanks to a smash-hit television series on FOX known as The O.C., which used their track "The Way We Get By" in a particularly memorable first-season scene (even I remember it quite well; the show was worth watching for the soundtrack alone). After that success, with the release of their 2005 album "Gimme Fiction" came the track "I Turn My Camera On", which had everyone who heard it tapping their feet to the perpetually catchy beat. Also noteworthy on that album was a dark, moody groove entitled "Was It You?", and a song which I believe is one of their best, "The Two Sides of Monsieur Valentine". Put these with the rest of the album and you have one of the best rock albums of that year. 

However, in 2007, with the release "Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga" it felt like the band was either struggling with trying to find a new direction to go in, or they were still content with the "Gimme Fiction" sound and replicating it. The problem was, while there were plenty of songs which resembled some of the more piano-driven pieces from "Gimme Fiction", there weren't any really moody, funky standouts that I couldn't help but bob my head to while thinking "I really like this guy's attitude." So, the question for me remains, will that need be taken care of in a few days, on Jan. 19 when the album is released? Or will "Transference" just be something I chalk up to my "Justifiable Reasons For Using an I-Tunes Gift Card" list? Let's hope for the former. If you want to find out what I think then keep an eye on my page, I will be reviewing this album as part of an upcoming bi-weekly "What We're Listening To" series here on 




Today's top buzz...

  • La Toya Jackson
    La Toya Jackson hits the club in music video for 'Feels Like Love'
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Italy's Vincenzo Nibali wins the 2014 Tour de France
    Today's Buzz
  • Johnny Manziel
    Here's why there is no need for Jonny Manziel to apologize for his offseason partying
    NFL Buzz
  • Guys and Dolls
    Guys and Dolls at the PACE Center: Community theater at it's finest
    15 Photos
  • Cheap Trick
    Cheap Trick brings an explosive set of hits to Phoenix on their U.S. tour
    20 Photos
  • Most Wanted Man
    'A Most Wanted Man' shows Phillip Seymour Hoffman at his best
    14 Photos