Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Recreation
  3. Snow Sports

Aspen teams win at the 2014 USA Powder 8 Championship

See also

What could be more Aspen Extreme than a Powder 8 contest? The USA Powder 8 Championship made famous by the movie Aspen Extreme just wrapped up in Aspen/Snowmass.

What is a Powder 8 contest? Teams of two, one person in front and one following, try to make rounded, figure eights in the snow, ideally in powder snow. The teams are then scored on synchronicity, dynamics, roundness, symmetry, and line.

Two Aspen/Snowmass teams brought home the trophy for the Open and Women's Divisions. The results were:

Open Division

  1. Kevin Jordan and Josh Fogg (Aspen/Snowmass)
  2. Willi Glanzig and Stephen Cieciuch (Telluride)
  3. Jim Schanzenbaker and Thomas Ronnau (Aspen/Snowmass)

Women's Division

  1. Maddie Voshell and Jenny Williams (Aspen/Snowmass)
  2. Linda Guerrette and Chloe Merry (Beaver Creek & Aspen/Snowmass)
  3. Heidi Kanayan and Annabel Ottawa (Aspen/Snowmass)

Congratulations to all the competitors and a special thank you to everyone who made this event possible: Jim Schanzenbaker (event organizer), Aspen/Snowmass, Aspen Powder Tours, the Limelight Hotel, the judges, and other sponsors.

For more information, check out the USA Powder 8 Championship Facebook page.



  • Stephen A. Smith apologizes
    Stephen A. Smith: Ray Rice rant was 'most egregious error of my career'
    Domestic Violence
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • New York Yankees fan returns lost Red Sox World Series ring to owner
    MLB News
  • Brees gets tested
    Saints Drew Brees says he has 10 years left in NFL, immediately gets drug tested
    NFL News
  • Bryan subdues burglar
    Former WWE champ Daniel Bryan holds down burglar with submission move
    Fight Sports
  • Grave defiler identified
    Die-hard Browns fan identified in Art Modell’s grave defiling video
    Crimes & Court