Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

Armstrong gets Daytona pole in rain-shortened qualifying session

See also

Rain marred NASCAR Nationwide Series qualifying on Friday at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway for Friday night's Subway Firecracker 250, with sudden rain causing a nine-car wreck in what was supposed to be the first of three rounds of qualifying. Additional rain cancelled the remainder of the qualifying session. In the end, Dakoda Armstrong claimed his first-career NASCAR Nationwide Series pole on Friday with a 46.845-second/192.123 mph lap in the shortened qualifying session. He'll be joined on the front row by Trevor Bayne.

Cars involved in the wreck included those of Mike Bliss, Eric McClure, Joe Nemechek, Benny Gordon, Ross Chastain, Scott Lagasse Jr., Matt DiBenedetto, Blake Koch and Robert Richardson Jr.

Bayne's Roush Fenway Racing teammate Chris Buescher was third fastest in the final round to claim one of the second-row starting spots. Roush Fenway Racing claimed three of the top-four starting spots, with Ryan Reed qualifying fourth to join Buescher in row two.

Kyle Busch was the fastest of the non-championship-eligible drivers in the final round of qualifying, qualifying fifth. Three drivers not earning Nationwide points qualified in the top-10. Busch's Joe Gibbs Racing teammate, Darrell Wallace Jr., a regular in the Camping World Truck Series, qualified ninth. Sprint Cup regular Kyle Larson was 10th.

Nationwide Series points leader Elliott Sadler qualified sixth. The JR Motorsports duo of Chase Elliott and Regan Smith were seventh and eighth.

Forty-five drivers made qualifying runs to attempt to qualify for the 40 available spots on the starting grid. Drivers who failed to make the race include Gordon, Koch, Tommy Joe Martins, DiBenedetto and Bobby Gerhart.

The Firecracker 250 is scheduled to take the green flag shortly after 7:30 p.m. ET, weather permitting. It may be seen live on ESPN2.



  • Stephen A. Smith apologizes
    Stephen A. Smith: Ray Rice rant was 'most egregious error of my career'
    Domestic Violence
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • New York Yankees fan returns lost Red Sox World Series ring to owner
    MLB News
  • Peyton Manning dancing
    Peyton Manning shows off his formidable dancing skills at training camp
    NFL News
  • Bagwell becoming porn star
    Buff Bagwell has the stuff, but his Vivid dreams have not come true just yet
    Fight Sports
  • Grave defiler identified
    Die-hard Browns fan identified in Art Modell’s grave defiling video
    Crimes & Court