Skip to main content
Report this ad

Arkansas Arts Center Announces Award Winners for the 37th Toys Designed by Artists

 The Arkansas Arts Center announces the award winners for the 37th Toys Designed by Artists. The exhibition will be held in the Jeannette Edris Rockefeller Gallery December 17, 2010 – February 20, 2011.
An international competition for artists, the biennial exhibition showcases a variety of original and innovative designs to celebrate the playful side of artists and viewers alike. Jim Bartz, a past winner of Toys Designed by Artist, juried this year’s exhibition. Bartz is a wood artist that combines wood carving with toys, music and Americana.

More than 140 pieces were submitted for the show and 40 were selected for the exhibition. Two works were selected to become part of the Arkansas Arts Center Foundation collection. Ye Seul Seo’s Please, Soothe Me and Bill Price’s Sheriff Rubber Ducky were given Purchase Awards. Chance Dunlap’s Tumbler received an Honorable Mention. All toys were judged based on their creativity, originality and excellence of design.

The lecture Choosing Toys: A Juror's Perspective by Jim Bartz will be held on Thursday, December 16, at 5:30 p.m. in the Arkansas Arts Center Lecture Hall. Bartz will discuss the process he used to select works for the 37th Toys Designed by Artists.

The 37th Toys Designed by Artists is sponsored by Maggie and Dick Dearnley. Jim Bartz’s lecture is sponsored by Gaye and Bob Anderson. For more information or to reserve tickets for the lecture, call 501-372-4000 or visit

Contact: 501-372-4000
Location: Arkansas Arts Center – 9th and Commerce, Little Rock, AR 72202
Free Admission.
Gallery Hours: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday
11 a.m. to 5 p.m. Sunday
Closed Monday & Major Holidays
Exhibition Sponsored by: Maggie and Dick Dearnley
Lecture Sponsored by: Gaye and Bob Anderson


Report this ad