Can you eat at fast-food restaurants if you’re on a gluten-free diet?
It depends on what you choose to eat and the restaurant choice. Sometimes there are fast-food restaurants that cater to gluten-free dieters or persons with celiac disease. Under some circumstances, if you ask, they would probably be willing to honor those requests.
Also, they may be able to even alter or omit ingredients to fit your requirements. Also, keep in mind that like most fast-food restaurants, cross-contaminations of allergens are still a risk. Sometimes they use the same equipment to make gluten and gluten-free based foods. Here are some examples of fast food restaurants here in Kansas City that sells gluten-free menu items such as Taco Bell, Wendy’s and Dairy Queen.
For wheat and gluten sensitive individuals, Taco Bell suggests trying the Express Taco Salad with chicken instead of beef, Tostada, or the Fiesta Taco Salad with chicken and without the red strips. But use caution when selecting items, because some foods like other restaurants are cooked in the same equipment as those that contain other allergens. If you are still uncertain, please feel free to contact Taco Bell at 1-800TACOBELL.
This fast-food restaurant, Wendy’s, has an article that discusses what gluten is and the products that they make gluten-free as choices. Their menu items mentions that they do not contain wheat, barley, oat, or rye on certain foods. For example, Applewood Smoked Bacon hamburger patty, Sour Cream & Chives baked potato, or the Ultimate Chicken Grill Fillet can be some gluten-free items to try.
Are there any gluten-free desserts?
Sure, why not? There are Caramel Apple Frosty without granola, Caramel Frosty Shake or the traditional Chocolate Frosty Shake to name a few.
Dairy Queen is another restaurant where it is okay to have dessert, gluten-free. They even have their own Dairy Queen Gluten Sensitive Guide . They have DQ soft serve, Dilly bar, vanilla Orange bar, DQ Fudge bar, and Blizzards.
Please don’t forget the drinks such as Artic Rush Slush (all flavors) and the Moolatte as a few choices. There are also regular food items on the menu that are gluten-free, if you get it without the bun. For example, Grillburger patty, hot dog frank or hamburger patty without bun.
Other resources for Gluten-free Restaurants and where to find them
For more information about where to find gluten-free restaurants go to the Gluten-Free Restaurant Awareness Program (GFRAP) website www.glutenfreerestaurants.org
Also, check out Tell Me What to Eat If I have Celiac Disease: nutrition you can live with by Kimberly A. Tessmer, RD, LD. Her website can be found at www.Nutrifocus.net.
Please check back later for more restaurants, recipes, and gluten-free at home articles.