Skip to main content
Report this ad

Are readers running around naked?

Burnt Offerings, Laurell K. Hamilton
Burnt Offerings, Laurell K. Hamilton

"Wear the old coat and buy the new book"

-Austin Phelps

Any avid reader can remember a time in their life when they have done exactly this. No, I don't mean actually running around in the famous 'birthday' suit! But there is truth in the quote. Trust me, I am not judging anyone who skimped on lunch to save money, but ran out to buy that new book they have waited on forever. I fully support this possibly insane act of indulgence as one of the best sources of therapy in these financially trying times.

I wanted to spend a few minutes here to elaborate on one of my favorite authors mentioned in my previous article, Fantasy in a depressed atmosphere. I accidentally fell into her books about three years ago. Luckily, I started with the first book in this growing series. Although I am having some difficulty pin-pointing the original release dates, I am fairly certain that the current popularity had not been initially forseen in the first few publications. Although there is now a huge following for the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series, this is not the only series by Laurell K Hamilton. (Please see future articles) When I started that first book, there were only about a dozen. Of course, I am not made of money, but I bought, and read, all of them in about a month. Thinking back on it now, I know I should have bought them used at less than list price, possibly on-line. But I did not. I just could not wait the time it would take for shipping. Not when the next continuation of the story was simply sitting on a shelf at the local bookstore, ready and waiting for me to read! So yes, I wore the old coat but bought the new book, or books rather.

I am sincerely excited for those of you who will be exploring the Anita Blake world for the first time. So much so that I don't want to give away too many details and ruin it for you (with a series, that is so easy to do). I will simply offer this synopsis and description. This series has been described as fantasy, thriller, horror, romance, erotica, mystery, science fiction, vampire, murder, and the descriptions go on. It does have a little bit of everything in it. It takes place in a world much like our own, except that supernatural beings are as commonplace as humans. They even have their own politics and policing system. Anita Blake happens to be a necromancer, at least thats all she is in the beginning. She raises the dead. Oh, and she also is a bounty hunter against bad vampires who have broken the law. One kick-butt type of gal. There are many twists and I doubt you'll be able to set the book or the series down for long.

For any of those looking to read the Anita Blake series, here is the list of the books in order. For any of those looking to read it again, here is the list because I know how hard it is to remember the order. And for those who have a much shorter reading attention span but eager to get in on the fun, this series is now out in comic book form. Enjoy!

  1. Guilty Pleasures
  2. The Laughing Corpse
  3. Circus of the Damned
  4. Lunatic Cafe
  5. Bloody Bones
  6. The Killing Dance
  7. Burnt Offerings
  8. Blue Moon
  9. Obsidian Butterfly
  10. Narcissus in Chains
  11. Cerulean Sins
  12. Incubus Dreams
  13. Micah
  14. Danse Macabre
  15. Harlequin
  16. Blood Noir
  17. Skin Trade


Report this ad