Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

April to conclude with imaginative chamber music from San Francisco Performances

See also

By the end of the 2013–2014 season, pianist Marc-André Hamelin will have distinguished himself by performing in three different subscription series offered by San Francisco Performances (SFP). Last November he joined the members of the Pacifica Quartet for a performance of Antonín Dvořák’s Opus 81 quintet in A major for the SFP Chamber Series. He then returned at the end of January to give a solo recital in the Shenson Piano Series. At the end of this month, he will return for a final appearance, this time concluding the SFP Virtuosi Series in the company of violinist Anthony Marwood and clarinetist Martin Fröst.

The program will consist primarily of duo performances, but each half of the program will conclude with a trio. In the first half this will be a suite that Igor Stravinsky prepared for just those three instruments based on movements from his score for Histoire du soldat (soldier’s tale). The concert will then conclude with Contrasts, composed by Béla Bartók in 1938 on a joint commission from violinist Joseph Szigeti and clarinetist Benny Goodman. The original version had only two movements, but Bartók added a slow movement after the first performance of that version. All three movements were performed together for the first time on April 21, 1940 in Carnegie Hall with Bartók on piano joining Szigeti and Goodman.

Only one composer will be represented on the program as composing for both clarinet and violin. In the first half Fröst and Hamelin will perform the first of two pieces that Claude Debussy called “rhapsody.” (The second was composed for saxophone.) In the second half Marwood will join Hamelin to perform one of Debussy’s last works, his only sonata for violin and piano. Fröst will also perform the clarinet sonata composed by Francis Poulenc, and the program will begin with Franz Schubert’s D. 895 rondo in B minor for violin and piano, the only piece to be performed that was not composed in the twentieth century.

This recital will take place at 7:30 p.m. in the SFJAZZ Center (201 Franklin Street, on the northwest corner of Fell Street) on Monday, April 28. (Note that this is a change of venue from the originally planned use of the Nourse Theater.) Ticket prices are $70, $55, and $38. Tickets may be purchased through the event page on the SFP Web site. Tickets may also be purchased by calling 415-398-6449.


Today's top buzz...

  • Ted Nugent
    Ted Nugent concert at Native American casino canceled because of obvious reasons
    Music Buzz
  • NFL
    Pat Bowlen steps down as Broncos owner following Alzheimer's diagnosis
    NFL Buzz
  • Tina Fey
    See why Tina Fey is possibly the most popular woman in comedy at the moment
    Today's Buzz
  • Mick Jagger
    Mick Jagger promotes 'Get On Up' in New York, including Apollo Theater premiere
    20 Photos
  • Boyhood
    The new film 'Boyhood' chronicles twelve years of one boy's life
    19 Photos
  • Buffy
    We're counting down ten of the finest episodes of ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer’
    7 Photos