Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Aphex Twin announce new album 'SYRO' via the deep web & a green blimp

Richard D. James is still scary after all these years.
Richard D. James is still scary after all these years.
courtesy of Wire Images

Aphex Twin, after 13 years, has finally revealed plans for an upcoming album.

On Tuesday, Richard D. James - the man behind Aphex Twin, tweeted out a bizarre internet address that ended in .onion, a domain of the so-called "deep web" that can only be accessed by using a TOR browser. From there, you reach a page on the site revealing what appears to be an Aphex Twin album titled SYRO, with a number of track names listed beneath it. If you continue to scroll down, you will see James' familiar grinning mug, though edited, is still just as scary as it was in the '90s. Pitchfork has confirmed that the track listing is legitimate.

If you go to the .com mirror site of the given .onion address, the same page appears, although without the album title and track names.

Speculation concerning the new Aphex Twin release began on Saturday, when a blimp bearing both the Aphex Twin logo and the year "2014"was spotted hovering over the London arts venue, Oval Space. This not-so subtle form of advertising naturally caused many to think that James may finally be releasing Aphex Twin's first proper album since 2001's Drukqs.

Even before the surprise announcement of SYRO, Aphex Twin had been in the news of late after it was revealed that Minecraft creator Markus Persson spent $43,300 on eBay to buy a very rare copy of Aphex Twin's lost 1994 album Caustic Window. The album was completely abandoned after only four test pressings were made.

One of these rare copies somehow made it's way onto Discogs earlier this year, and Aphex Twin fans rallied together to create a Kickstarter campaign to purchase the physical album itself and then digitally release the album to fellow supporters through a one-time distribution deal with James and his label Rephlex Records. Fans ended up raising more than $67,000, the digital copies were made, and the original test pressing was then resold to Persson.

A release date for SYRO has yet to be announced, but it's a safe bet the album will come out before the end of the year. The track listing for the upcoming album is as follows:

1. minipops67 (source field mix)

2. XMAS_Eve10 (thanaton3 mix)

3. produk29

4. 4 bit 9d epi+e+6

5. 180db_

6. CIRCLONT6A (syrobonkus mix)

7. fz pseudotimestretch+e+3

8. syro u473+8+e (piezoluminescence mix)

9. PAPAT4 (pineal mix)

10. s950tx16wasr10 (earth portal mix)

11. aisatsana

Report this ad