Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

AP Music Awards (Inaugural) – at Cleveland, OH Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2014

Cleveland, OH - This past week (July 21, 2014) we saw the inaugural Gibson Brands AP Music Awards fueled by Monster Energy Drink and Red Carpet event at the Rock Hall of Fame and performances at Voinovich park (behind the RRHOF). It was really nice to meet with alot of the artists. For the most part all the artists were extremely excited to walk the red carpet. I told them it is about time that the music that they perform and dedicate is noticed and an event is presented in their honor. Excitement filled the Rock Hall entrance by the screaming fans who stand tightly by the barricade waiting for their favorite artists to be noticed.

Korn on the Carpet
Chrisi Baker

In attendance at the Red Carpet event were dozens of media organizations from Twitter posters and local television news and internet media outlets, such as Cleveland Rocks Magazine, Gibson, Frontrow Sessions, AP Japan, Cleveland Scene, College News, Tanise,, and much more. A great media turnout for the inaugural event.

Hosted by Blink-182's Mark Hoppus and broadcast live in its entirety by AXS TV, the event drew a staggering 6,000 attendees and trended worldwide on Twitter for nearly five hours – solidifying the APMAs as the newest and epic-in-scope live music event and award show!

Maximum Threshold Radio was at the event and was able to talk with over 30 artists, the President of the RRHOF and others. It was nice to see that a lot of the listeners of MTRS were on the scene as well. Watching the red carpet event from behind the fence. It was real evident in most of the interviews by the screams calling out to the radio personalities throughout the whole event.

CM Punk on the Red Carpet at the AP Music Awards talking with Dom R of Maximum Threshold Radio for a brief moment. (Pretty funny clip)

Some of the great interviews or speaking moment were from: CM Punk, Billy Corgan (Smashing Pumpkins), Ice T, A Day to Remember, All Time Low, Andy Biersack (Black Veil Brides), Attila, Bayside, Beartooth, Beebs (Beebs and Her Money Makers), Brendon (Panic! At the Disco), Chiodos, Dyting to Live Foundation, Echosmith, EveryTime I Die, Greg Harris (President RRHOF), I See Stars, Ice Nine Kills, Jeffree Star, Korn, Memphis May Fire, Myles Kennedy, Neck Deep, Plague Vendor, Saves the Day, Suicide Silence, The Color Morale, The Misfits, The Summerset, and Yellowcard.

The APMAs kicked off with an official APMAs Boat Party featuring Issues, Ghost Town and Marmozets, and continued on the illustrious red carpet, hosted by professional wrestling champion CM Punk and Automatic Loveletter frontwoman/The Voice season two runner-up Juliet Simms.

The event featured a surprise appearance from Aerosmith’s Joe Perry, presenting the Guitar “Legend” Award to Slash (who first appeared on the cover of AP in 1988!), as well as unprecedented performances such as a salute to Frank Sinatra led by Brendon Urie of Panic! At The Disco with Cleveland’s over-100-member Contemporary Youth Orchestra, Falling In Reverse with Coolio and Tyler Carter of Issues performing the rapper’s hit song “Gangsta’s Paradise,”

Asking Alexandria performing Duran Duran’s chart-topping hit “Hungry Like The Wolf” with special guest Jonathan Davis of Korn, the Misfits performing “Dig Up Her Bones” and “Die Die My Darling’”, and “We Are 138” with Andy Biersack of Black Veil Brides and Joan Jett & The Blackhearts performing “Bad Reputation” with Billy Crooked of the Vacancies, “Soulmates To Strangers” with Against Me!’s Laura Jane Grace and a show-stopping cover of the Rolling Stones’ “Star Star” (“Starfucker”) with Slash. In addition, All Time Low brought up special guests in the form of Yellowcard, New Found Glory and Vic Fuentes of Pierce The Veil for a groundbreaking all-star medley, including a performance of Song Of The Year winner, “A Love Like War.”

The show also featured stellar performances such as Fall Out Boy with the Contemporary Youth Orchestra of their hit single “The Phoenix”, Body Count feat. Ice-T performing “Talk Shit, Get Shot” and “There Goes The Neighborhood,” Sleeping With Sirens performing their hit song “Alone” with special guest Machine Gun Kelly, twenty one pilots with Michael Bohn of Issues and the Contemporary Youth Orchestra performing their hit single “Car Radio,” Machine Gun Kelly and the Contemporary Youth Orchestra on his hit single “See My Tears” and A Day To Remember performing their hit track “City Of Ocala” with Neck Deep.

The following is a full list of all APMA award winners:

Best Vocalist presented by Victory Records – Brendon Urie, Panic! At The Disco

Best Live Band presented by Vans Warped Tour – Pierce The Veil

Breakthrough Band presented by Beats Music – Crown The Empire

Best Bassist presented by Dyin 2 Live – Jaime Preciado, Pierce The Veil

Best International Band presented by Zepeda Brothers Productions – Bring Me The Horizon

Artist Philanthropic Award presented by Sub City/Take Action – All Time Low

Best Guitarist presented by Gibson – Phil Manansala, Of Mice &Men

Vanguard Award presented by AXS TV – Billy Corgan

Best Drummer presented by DW Drums – Mike Fuentes, Pierce The Veil

Icon Award presented by Blackstar Amplification – Joan Jett

Most Dedicated Fans presented by Fearless Records – Black Veil Brides

Guitar Legend Award presented by the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame – Slash

Song Of The Year presented by Epitaph Records – All Time Low w/Vic Fuentes of Pierce The Veil

Album Of The Year presented by Journeys – Bring Me The Horizon, Sempiternal

Artist Of The Year presented by Monster Energy – FallOut Boy

Additional appearances were made by Billy Corgan, Laura Jane Grace, Ice T and Body Count and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2012 inductee Slash, as well as members of Attlia, Bayside, Beartooth, Chiodos, Crown The Empire, the Devil Wears Prada, Echosmith, Emmure, Every Time I Die, I See Stars, Issues, Korn, Less Than Jake, letlive., the Maine, Mayday Parade, Memphis May Fire, Miss May I, Motionless In White, Neck Deep, Paramore, Pierce The Veil, Saves The Day, Silverstein, Sleepwave, Suicide Silence, We Are The In Crowd, We Came As Romans, the Word Alive.and Yellowcard.

Check out official videos and media from the APMAs

(all red carpet pictures were taken by Christine Baker)


Comment Back – Please forward this review, Tweet, FB it, and LIKE it.

Follow Dom on Facebook | Twitter | Email

Click here to Subscribe to Dom's articles

Dom Rini is the program director/host of the internationally syndicated show Maximum Threshold Radio Show. (Hard Rock/Metal/Comedy/News, You can catch his show live every Saturday night from 8-11pm EST.), and the newly international video/metal radio station site The Metal Station.

Report this ad