Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

An SFCM master class provides a ‘sneak preview’ of Phonochrome’s Messiaen

See also

This afternoon cellist David Requiro led a master class at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music (SFCM). While I normally do not identify the names of the students being coached, on this particular occasion the first such student was cellist Laura Gaynon, performing with accompanist Allegra Chapman. Those who read yesterday’s summary of activities for Valentine’s Day weekend will recognize that these are two of the founding members of the Phonochrome chamber ensemble; and for this afternoon Gaynon had prepared the “Louange à l’Éternité de Jésus” (praise to the eternity of Jesus) movement from Olivier Messiaen’s “Quatour pour la fin du temps” (quartet for the end of time), which will be performed in its entirety at SFCM on Valentine’s Day.

This movement is an extended melody performed by the cello against nothing more than a progression of repeated chords on the piano. Messiaen’s tempo marking in “infiniment lent, extatique” (infinitely slow, ecstatic). After listening to Gaynon play through the movement, Requiro’s first question was whether she was approaching this music technically or expressively, and I was glad to hear Gaynon reply with the latter option. Nevertheless, much of the coaching session involved teasing out how addressing specific technical questions of attack, breath, and phrasing would lead to determining an appropriately expressive rhetoric.

While I would not question any of Requiro’s tactics or Gaynon’s approaches to his coaching, I have to say that, where this particular piece is concerned (and, for that matter, many other Messiaen compositions), the dichotomy that needs to be addressed is the one between mysticism and logic (with apologies to Bertrand Russell). The fact that the entire quartet was motivated by the apocalyptic visions of the tenth chapter of the Book of Revelations seems sufficient to suggest that this score is suffused with mysticism, whether we take the King James Version of the text “there should be time no longer” or the more pragmatic Jerusalem Bible version: “The time of waiting is over.” Thus, Messiaen’s tempo marking may be taken as an indication of an almost (but not quite) eternal “time of waiting,” whose expansiveness will (in the full scope of the composition) be brought to conclusion by the subsequent “Danse de la fureur, pour les sept trompettes” (dance of fury, for the seven trumpets).

While this excerpted movement certainly provided an excellent opportunity to experience Gaynon’s cello work, it is also, in many respects, the one movement of the quartet that is most focused on an underlying sense of time-consciousness; and it this made for a promising foretaste of what will come when Messiaen’s composition is performed in its entirety at SFCM this coming February 14.


Today's top buzz...

  • Ted Nugent
    Ted Nugent concert at Native American casino canceled because of obvious reasons
    Music Buzz
  • NFL
    Pat Bowlen steps down as Broncos owner following Alzheimer's diagnosis
    NFL Buzz
  • Tina Fey
    See why Tina Fey is possibly the most popular woman in comedy at the moment
    Today's Buzz
  • Mick Jagger
    Mick Jagger promotes 'Get On Up' in New York, including Apollo Theater premiere
    20 Photos
  • Boyhood
    The new film 'Boyhood' chronicles twelve years of one boy's life
    19 Photos
  • Buffy
    We're counting down ten of the finest episodes of ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer’
    7 Photos