Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Update: American cities to host Central American Cup in late summer

Central American Cup
Central American Cup

The Central American Football Union (UNCAF), one of the three regions that comprises CONCACAF, recently revealed that the United States will host the Central American Cup from September 3-13, 2014. Today, the Cotton Bowl in Dallas, Texas, was announced to host the group stage on Sunday, September 7, and BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Texas, will host a triple-header on Wednesday, September 10, the last day of group play. The tournament’s Final will be held at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on September 13. Other cities will soon be announced.

Update: June 7, UNCAF announced that the 2014 Central American Cup will open with a triple-header at JFK Stadium in Washington, D.C., on Wednesday, September 3.

UNCAF’s seven member associations are Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama. Costa Rica and Honduras will be fresh from FIFA World Cup Brazil 2014 and manned with their top stars. Costa Rica is the current Central American Cup champion and has lifted the trophy a record seven times. Honduras is next with three titles, while Guatemala and Panama have won one apiece.

The Central American Cup is the region’s championship for national teams and a qualifying competition for the CONCACAF Gold Cup, a biennial tournament that determines the champion of North America, Central America and the Caribbean. The champion of the 2015 Gold Cup will then participate in a play-in match against the 2013 champion United States for a berth in the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia, which is comprised of six continental champions, reigning World Cup champion and tournament host.

The Central American Cup will also present its champion a direct route to the Centennial Cup America 2016, which is comprised of 10 nations of CONMEBOL in South America and six teams from CONCACAF, and also to be played in the United States for the first time-ever.

In 12 editions of the Central American Cup, Costa Rica and Honduras have hosted it three times each, and El Salvador, Guatemala and Panama hosted twice.

Last February, the Executive Committee of UNCAF revised the match dates to coordinate with FIFA’s international calendar, so that all teams can play the tournament with their top stars and “A” teams.


Report this ad