Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Sports
  3. NBA

Alonzo Mourning, along with three others elected to Naismith Hall of Fame

See also

Former Miami Heat and Georgetown great Alonzo Mourning was among four players/coaches elected into the Naismith Hall of Fame on April 7.

Mourning , who was selected by the Charlotte Hornets with the second overall pick in the 1992 draft, was a defensive stalwart during his 15-year career. The 6-foot-10 center won two NBA Defensive Player of the Year awards and made seven All-Star teams. He averaged 17.1 points along with 8.5 rebounds and 2.8 blocks for three teams – Charlotte, Miami (twice) and New Jersey Nets.

Mourning played with Miami from 1995 until kidney disease forced him to miss the 2002-03 season. After undergoing the transplant, Mourning resumed his career with New Jersey in 2002-03 but then rejoined the Heat as a free agent in March 2005. He officially retired on January 22, 2009, and had his number 33 retired by the Heat on March 30, 2009.

Mourning, who was awarded the J. Walter Kennedy Citzen Award in 2002, has been involved in charitable work since his playing days. He is currently serving as the Heat’s Vice President of Player Programs and Development, which covers community outreach and mentoring young players. Mourning is also a member of board directors at Georgetown.

Mourning was elected along with former NBA star Mitch Richmond and NCAA championship-winning coaches Nolan Richardson and Gary Williams. Immaculata College’s women’s basketball team that won three straight national championships in the 1970s was also chosen.

Richmond was an elite scorer who is 37th on the NBA scoring list at 20,497 points. A six-time NBA All-Star, Richmond is a 1996 Olympic Gold Medalist, 1988 Olympic Bronze Medalist and won the 2002 NBA Championship with the Los Angeles Lakers.

Richardson led the University of Arkansas to the 1994 National Championship and to three Final Four appearances (1990, 1994, 1995). He compiled a collegiate coaching record of 509-207 (.711).

Williams led Maryland to the 2002 national title. He retired in 2011 with 668 wins, seven 25-win seasons and 22 postseason appearances, including 11 straight trips to the NCAA tournament

They will be joined at the Enshrinement Ceremonies in Springfield (Aug. 7-9), by the five members who were directly elected earlier this year -- Bob Leonard, Nat Clifton, Sarunas Marciulionis Guy Rodgers and David Stern.