Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

ALA begins Accepting I Love My Librarian Nominations

The American Library Association (A.L.A.) announced today it is now accepting nominations for the 2014 Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award. The award invites library users across the U.S.A. to recognize the accomplishments of the exceptional public, school, and academic librarians. Nominations will run through Friday, September 12, 2014 and are being accepted online.

Up to ten librarians will be selected. Each librarian will receive a $5,000 cash award, a plaque, and a travel stipend to attend the awards ceremony and reception in New York City, hosted by The New York Times.

Each nominee must be a librarian with a master’s degree from an A.L.A.-accredited program in library and information studies or a master’s degree with a specialty in school library media from an educational unit accredited by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education. Nominees must be currently working in the U.S.A. in a public library, an academic library (meaning a library at an accredited two-or four-year-college or university) or a school library (meaning a library at an accredited K-12 school).

In the award’s first six years, library supporters across the U.S. sent in more than 13,000 nominations for their librarians. A total of sixty librarians have won the award to date.

Carnegie Corporation of New York has provided A.L.A. funding to administer the national award. The New York Times supports the award through ads in the newspapers and The award is a collaborative program of Carnegie Corporation of New York, The New York Times and the A.L.A. The Carnegie Corporation of New York is a philanthropic foundation founded by Andrew Carnegie (1835-1912) in 1911 to do “real and permanent good in this world.”

Report this ad