Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Neighborhoods
  3. Places & Faces

Alaska Air Carriers Assoc. Honor Aviation Students, Pilots, Mechanics

See also

The Alaska Air Carriers Association honored pilots, mechanics, emergency responders and aviation students with scholarships at their annual awards banquet Feb. 19 in Anchorage.

More Photos

“This year we gave more than any other year due to carriers sponsorship,” said Joy Journeay, executive director of the Alaska Air Carriers Association. “We are giving five scholarships to very deserving young people.”

Receiving awards for excellence are: Bruce Savo, Dillingham, Richard Gingras, Anchorage, Samuel Warner, Anchorage, Nicholas Bouker, Dillingham (underwritten by Wright Air Service) and Brett Merboth, Nome (underwritten by Crowley).

Also awarded in front of a crown of nearly 300 people from the aviation industry in Alaska are:

Joann Ford-Aviation Communication Award, Diana and Bruce Moroney for the Iditarod Humanitarian Award, Mechanic of the year Award goes to Shawn Toth, Outstanding Aviation Support Award-Barb Shelley, Pilot of the Year goes to Sam Egli, Community Service Award to the Alaska Airshow Association, Don Bach received the Tony Cestnik Maintenance Award.

The Emergency Response Award went to the Samaritan’s Purse, Missionary Aviation & Repair Center, Adam White, Faith Bible Fellowship, Big Lake, Send North, Arctic Barnabas Ministries, Kenai. These Christian entities responded to the flooded community of Galena during the Spring Flood of 2013 when an ice jam on the Yukon River backed up and flooded Galena ruining 97 percent of the homes there.

The Arlo Livingston Lifetime Award went to Warren Thompson of Kotzebue for his life long aviation service to Alaskan Arctic communities.

Rob Stapleton can be reached at: robstapleton(at)



  • Weight loss
    Doctor's have discovered a potential breakthrough for future obesity treatments
    Shocking Discovery
  • Sharpen home improvement skills
    Different ways to sharpen your home improvement skills
    Home Improvement
  • Fun 40th birthday
    Planning a 40th birthday is also a great way for you to explore more of your creativity
    Birthday Ideas
  • Ornamental trees
    Best small accent and ornamental trees for a yard or garden space
    Ornamental Trees
  • Lindsay Lohan
    Lindsay Lohan suffered a miscarriage while she was taping her reality TV series
    Lindsay Lohan
  • Aquarium trips
    Homeschooling: Making the most out of your aquarium trip
    6 Photos

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!