Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

ACC – Big Ten Challenge to increase to 14 games in 2014

With both Conferences having expanded, there will be a record 14 games played in the ACC/Big Ten Challenge in 2014. Louisville moves from the American Athletic Conference to the ACC while the Big 10 welcomes Maryland and Rutgers.

Frank Kaminisky returns  for his senior season after bypassing NBA draft. He averaged 13.9 ppg and shot 52.8 % from the field.
Frank Kaminisky returns for his senior season after bypassing NBA draft. He averaged 13.9 ppg and shot 52.8 % from the field.
Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images

The annual Challenge, which is presented by Dick’s Sporting Goods is in its 16th year, will be played over three days from December 1-3. ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU will combine to televise all 14 games of the three-day event matching top college basketball programs playing for conference supremacy and the Commissioners Cup. All 14 games will also be available via WatchESPN.

The ACC and Big 10 combined to put 13 teams in the 2014 NCAA tournament Duke, Louisville, North Carolina, NC State, Pittsburgh, Syracuse and Virginia from the ACC, and Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Nebraska, Ohio State and Wisconsin from the Big Ten.

All 14 teams from the Big 10 will compete in the Challenge this year while Boston College will not participate for the ACC.

The ACC leads the all-time series 10-3-2, but has not held the Commissioner’s cup since 2008. The conferences have split the games, six apiece, the last two years. In the event of a tie this year, the Commissioner's Cup will remain with the Big 10.

Duke has the most victories in the challenge with 13 while Maryland has 10 wins to lead all Big 10 squads.

2014 ACC/Big Ten Challenge schedule

Monday, Dec. 1
Nebraska at Florida State: Florida State won the teams only meeting in 2005.
Rutgers at Clemson: Clemson won the initial match-up in 1999.

Tuesday, Dec. 2
Syracuse at Michigan: Michigan and Syracuse last met in a 2013 National Semifinal game from Atlanta with the Wolverines defeating the Orange 61-56.
Ohio State at Louisville
Pittsburgh at Indiana
NC State at Purdue
Illinois at Miami (Fla.): Series tied at 1-1.
Minnesota at Wake Forest

Wednesday, Dec. 3
Duke at Wisconsin: Third meeting in the Challenge with each team winning once.
Michigan State at Notre Dame: First meeting in 35 years.
Iowa at North Carolina: Iowa is 2-1 against UNC though the last meeting was in 2004.
Virginia at Maryland
Georgia Tech at Northwestern
Virginia Tech at Penn State

Notes: Nine of the 14 games will mark first-time Challenge matchups including Syracuse at Michigan, Michigan State at Notre Dame, Iowa at North Carolina, Pittsburgh at Indiana, Illinois at Miami (Fla.) and Nebraska at Florida State. Three other games involve a new member of one of the conferences: Rutgers (at Clemson) and Maryland (against former ACC foe Virginia) in the Big Ten and Louisville (against Ohio State) in the ACC. Pittsburgh and Syracuse won their initial challenge contest last year while Notre Dame fell to Iowa.

Report this ad