Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Academy to honor Maureen O'Hara, Harry Belafonte, and two others

Maureen O'Hara is one of the recipients this year for an honorary Oscar
Photo by Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images

According to Hollywood Reporter, today Aug. 28, it was announced that actress Maureen O'Hara, French screenwriter Jean-Claude Carriere, and Japanse animator Hayao Miyazaki will be honored by the Academy with honorary Oscars. Singer and actor Harry Belafonte will be given the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award. The awards will be given to them at the Governors Awards on Nov. 8 at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland.

It was voted on who was going to be given the awards on Tuesday night, at a meeting between the board members of the governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Last year it was Angelina Jolie, who was given the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian award and Steve Martin, Angela Lansbury, and Piero Tosi were given honorary Oscars.

Maureen O'Hara last week just recently celebrated her 94th birthday, she starred in many John Ford and collaborated with John Wayne in several movies. She started her film career in the 1930s, one of her early films that made her a star were "The Jamaican Inn." It was with director Alfred Hitchcock.

Harry Belafonte acted in several movies notably the movie "Carmen," he's a singer too, and he is a Civil Rights activist. In 1987, he was named a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador, and serves on the board, Advancement Project and the Institute for Policy Studies.

Jean-Cluade Carriere worked with directors Luis Brunel, won an Oscar for the short film, "Happy Anniversary" with director Pierre Etax. He also worked on the screenplays for the movies, "The Unbearable Lightness of Being" and "That Obscure Object of Desire."

Hayao Miyazkai is known for his creative animation. His colorful filmography involves such classics as "Spirited Away," "Howl's Moving Castle," "Princess Mononoke," and recently the 2013 film, "The Wind Rises."

So those are this year's reciepts of the honoary Acadmey Award and the Jean Hersholt Humantitarina award.

Report this ad