Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Academy hosts PL diving, swimming championships

Alexandra Polivanchuk
Gallaudet athletics

The 2014 Atlantic Coast Conference and Patriot League Women’s Swimming & Diving and begin Feb. 19. The Naval Academy will host the PL games while Maryland travels to the Greensboro Aquatic Center in Greensboro, N.C., for the last time.

The Big East Diving Championships was condensed into one day due to the treacherous travel conditions on the east coast. Feb. 15.

Lauren Kahan’s finals score of 217.60 gave her 429.80 to earn her a bronze medal in the one-meter diving competition. Casandra Schwartz and Jen Purks finished fourth and five, respectively for the Hoyas.

Saturday’s diving scores carry forward to the following week when the 2014 conference swimming championships commence at Gloucester County Institute of Technology in Sewell, N.J.

Division III

The Gallaudet 200-yard freestyle relay team of Anna Polivanchuk, Thyra Wood, Katie Giles (Gaithersburg, Md.) and Alexandra Polivanchuk crushed the old school record of 2:04.36 with a time of 1:58.12 in the North Eastern Athletic Conference finals.

Anna Polivanchuk also broke the 50 backstroke school record as her split time of 28.35 edged the old mark of 29.86 held by her sister Alexandra. GU’s Larry Curran was named 2014 NEAC Women’s Swimming and Diving Coach of the Year.

The Bison finished third in the conference Feb. 16.

Catholic’s Joanna Ladas (St. John’s) and Julia Wisler were named the Landmark Conference’s Women’s Co-Swimmers of the Year. Both swimmers won two individual events and teamed up to win the 800 freestyle relay. They also combined to finish second in the 400 freestyle relay.

Ladas earned top honors after being named Swimmer of the Year in 2011. After missing the 2013 championships, she came back and won the 500 freestyle for the third time in her career and the 1,650 freestyle for the second time. Wisler won the 100 freestyle for the third consecutive year and repeated as champion in the 50 freestyle.

The Cardinals’ Christine Loughery earned women’s Rookie of the Year honors. She won the 200 freestyle and finished second in the 100 freestyle to Wisler. Loughery also teamed up with Ladas and Wisler to win the 800 freestyle relay and finish second in the 400 freestyle relay. Cards Coah Paul Waas was named Landmark Coach of the Year.

All 2014 LC selections are here.

Report this ad