Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

A11FL announces six inaugural teams and an agreement with ESPN

The new A11FL delivered some big news on Thursday with the announcement of its six inaugural franchises, a television partner and dates for showcase games later this year.

Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, will be the site of the A11FL's first ever showcase game in May.
Photo by Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images

According to a press release, the A11Professional Football League's six set teams are the San Francisco Bay Area Sea Lions, Los Angeles Express, New Jersey Generals, Dallas Wranglers, Chicago Staggs and Tampa Bay Bandits.

The Los Angeles Express, New Jersey Generals and Tampa Bay Bandits were cities and team names from the USFL of the 1980s, leaving one to wonder if the old logos and colors will return for those franchises in the new A11FL.

The league has also announced an agreement with ESPN to broadcast two showcase games in 2014 and the first full season in 2015. Published reports indicate that the games this year will air on ESPN2 on Saturday, May 17 from Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fla., and on Thursday, June 5 from the Cotton Bowl in Dallas.

Unlike the NFL, no jersey numbering requirements exist for the offense in the A11FL, and in information in the press release:

Each offensive player is eligible to receive the ball, depending on how they line up on the line of scrimmage. Thus, a team’s best lineman could be its best receiver in A11FL. Inspired by an offense developed at Piedmont High School the A11FL seeks to return football to the way it was originally played, offering a safer, and more athletic game for fans to enjoy.

Two more cities are expected to be announced soon and the 2015 season is slated to begin in late March and finish up on July 4th weekend.

More information about the league is available at

Follow me on twitter @aksports.

Report this ad