Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

A Sound of Thunder announce The Lesser Key of Solomon release date

A Sound of Thunder unleash The Lesser Key of Solomon
A Sound of Thunder unleash The Lesser Key of Solomon
Duy Tran

Washington DC traditional heavy metal quartet, A Sound of Thunder has announced September 9 as the official release date for the band’s fourth studio effort, The Lesser Key of Solomon. The new album will be the band’s fourth full length album and is also its darkest to date.

If it seems like the album has been a long time in the making that it is only because the band began recording it before its third effort, 2013’s brilliant Time’s Arrow, was even released. The group, which features guitarist Josh Schwartz, bassist Jesse Keen, drummer Chris Haren, and vocalist Nina Osegueda, once again turned to its fan base, running a highly successful Kickstarter campaign which brought in over $23,000 allowing the band to complete the album, as well as a forthcoming covers album, based on band and fan selections. More on that soon.

The Lesser Key of Solomon will be released through A Sound of Thunder’s own Mad Neptune Records and was once again produced by RIAA multi-platinum-awarded producer Kevin '131' Gutierrez (While Heaven Wept, Raven, Shinedown) who has helmed the band’s previous efforts. These heavy, riff-laden songs are complex yet instantly catchy, featuring razor-sharp musicianship and of course the astonishing performances of classically-trained powerhouse vocalist Nina “Thunder Lungs” Osegueda. Offers the singer:

"If your erection lasts longer than four hours, you probably listened to our new album. Also, you're welcome. On a serious note, this album is our best work to date. The songwriting and performances from the band are on another level. The album was a joy to make and that comes through in the final recording."

Time's Arrow was the group’s best-selling and best reviewed release to date. A Sound of Thunder was brimming with confidence and eager to get back into the recording studio. With too many musical ideas for just one album, the band selected only its darkest and most atmospheric material for The Lesser Key of Solomon. The result is an ominous collection of songs united by supernatural themes. The album represents the fulfillment of a promise to A Sound of Thunder's fans, known as the "Legion of Thunder".

The Lesser Key of Solomon has a running time of 61 minutes and features 10 of A Sound of Thunder's most intense yet nuanced songs, exploring territory which is simultaneously heavier and more atmospheric than ever before. The steel-armored wail of prodigal vocalist Nina Osegueda (called by some "the lovechild of Rob Halford and Bruce Dickinson") tops off deft performances by a band that knows how to deliver the goods. From the demonic fire of "Udoroth", to the crushing Dio-esque "Master of Pain", to the sweeping scope and dark theatricality of "Elijah", A Sound of Thunder delivers a timeless album full of metal classics.

The Lesser Key Of Solomon will be available as a digital download, compact disc, and limited deluxe vinyl-book format. The tracklisting includes: “Nexus Of Realities”, “Udoroth”, “Fortune Teller”, “The Boy Who Could Fly”, “Elijah”, “Master Of Pain”, “Blood From The Mummy’s Tomb”, “Black Secrets”, “One Empty Grave” and “House Of Bones”.

A Sound of Thunder also returned to artist Dusan Markovic to create the album's inspired artwork. Markovic also did the artwork for Time's Arrow as well as the band's 2013 Queen of Hell EP.

Don’t be surprised to discover, even as the band is set to release its newest slab of metal brilliance that A Sound of Thunder is already plotting studio time and fan rewards for album number five. Prolific and consistent, A Sound of Thunder is one of metal’s best kept secrets...but not for long.

Report this ad