The Motor Transport Museum is located about an hour east of downtown San Diego in the backcountry town of Campo, CA. The museum is considered "One of San Diego County's Mountain Treasures" and is definitely worth the picturesque drive.
Nearly all major truck manufacturers from 1912 to 1970 are represented at the Motor Transport Museum. Over 200 vehicles, including, milk trucks, cherry pickers, moving vans, military vehicles, buses, trailers and fire trucks can be found throughout the museum grounds. The museum also has a collection of industrial equipment and engines, a WWII searchlight, log splitters, and a small mine train.
Many of the antique trucks being restored by volunteers at the Motor Transport Museum are inside the Mill, which houses an auto and fabrication shop. Volunteers recently restored a 1912 Mack Julian Stage for the Julian Historical Society. The stage is believed to be the first motorized bus in San Diego and was used to deliver mail and passengers to the mountain gold rush town of Julian. The stage now resides in Julian at the Julian Carriage House Museum.
The Old Felspar Mill was built in 1929 by Standard Sanitary Manufacturing and was used to process feldspar. After being ground into a fine powder, the feldspar was loaded into railroad cars and shipped to Richmond, California where it was used to make porcelain, glass, pottery, and soap. The 100-foot tall, 9-story Mill was the main industry in the Campo area and employed many of the local residents until it's closure in 1950.
The Motor Transport Museum is open to the public on Saturdays only from 9am to 5pm. Admission is FREE. Personal tours during the week are available for schools and clubs. Call (619) 478-2492 for more information.
The Motor Transport Museum is located at 31949 Highway 94, Campo, CA 91906.