Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

A brief look at IRC’s county government in the 2014 election cycle

Indian River County is located on the Treasure Coast region of Florida. As of the 2010 Census, the population was 138,028; the county seat is Vero Beach and Indian River County is Florida's 6th richest county and one of the top 100 richest counties in the United States. It is home to general aviation manufacturer Piper Aircraft, Velocity Aircraft, CVS distribution Center, et al. Indian River County is home to the world famous Indian River Citrus, a locally harvested fruit, that is sold worldwide.

.   Indian River County is home to the world famous Indian River Citrus, a locally harvested fruit, that is sold worldwide.

Generally speaking, a county commission (also known as a board of county commissioners) is a group of elected officials charged with administering the county government in some states of the United States. County commissions are usually made up of three or more individuals. In some counties in Georgia and New Hampshire however, a sole commissioner holds the authority of the commission.

The commission acts as the executive of the local government, levy local taxes, administers county governmental services such as prisons, courts, public health oversight, property registration, building code enforcement, and public works such as road maintenance. The system has been supplanted in large part as disparate sparsely settled regions become urbanized and establish tighter local governmental control, but in many states, such as Pennsylvania where there are more trees than people in vast areas, the county commission is the form of government which oversees the management of such counties.

County Government in IRC:


1801 27th St., Bldg A
Vero Beach, FL 32960

Phone: 772-226-1490

District 1 – Wesley Davis (R) Vice-Chairman 2012-2016
District 2 – Joe Flescher (R) 2010-2014
District 3 – Tim Zorc (R) 2012-2016
District 4 – Peter O’Bryan (R) Chairman 2010-2014
District 5 – Bob Solari (R) 2012-2016

(R) Republican

2014 Candidates to date per Indian River Supervisor of Elections’ website:

Board of County Commissioners - Dist 2 Joseph E. Flescher (Active- Filed) REP Sebastian

Board of County Commissioners - Dist 2 Shawn R. Frost (Active- Filed) REP Vero Beach

Board of County Commissioners - Dist 2 Althea McKenzie (Active- Filed) NPA Vero Beach

Board of County Commissioners - Dist 4 Peter D. O'Bryan (Active- Filed) REP Vero Beach

A Little IRC History:

Prior to 1821 the area of Indian River County was part of the Spanish colony of East Florida. In 1822 this area became part of St. Johns County, in 1824 it became part of Mosquito County (original name of Orange County), and in 1844 its portion of Mosquito County became part of newly created St. Lucia County. In 1855 St. Lucia County was renamed Brevard County. In 1905 St. Lucie County was formed from the southern portion of Brevard County; in 1925 Indian River County was formed from the northern portion of St. Lucie County. It was named for the Indian River Lagoon, which runs through the eastern portion of the county.





Subscribe (Teresa Myers) and stay informed on 2014 elections in St. Lucie, Indian River, Martin and Palm Beach counties (Treasure Coast) from start to finish with information that may make a difference.

Report this ad