Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

5 Stages of Grief

Losing a loved one to death is extremely difficult and the grieving that a person does is not an easy process. It is time-consuming and it is exhausting, both emotionally and physically. There are stages of grief, five primary ones, and they can come and go in no particular order at all. Just when you think that one stage is over with and you have moved on to the next, you might find that you are back at that last one all over again. This isn’t unusual at all, so don’t let it make you think that you will never complete the process. You will get through the period of grieving eventually, even though you will never forget the loved one that you have lost. Life will resume a sense of normalcy again and you will be able to move forward in your life again.

The five stages of grief are: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.


Denial is often the first stage of grief that people go through. In this stage, the person may know somewhere inside that the life of their loved one is over, but they refuse to truly acknowledge it, even to themselves. They may try and go on with life as usual, acting as though nothing has changed in their life. *Bargaining

In the bargaining stage of grief, the mourning person will try to make deals, usually with God. For instance, one may say, “I will give all of my extra money to charity if my loved one can come back to me”. Things like this don’t work, of course, but for the grief-stricken, it gives small moments of hope that maybe if they’re just good enough, everything will go back to the way it was before tragedy struck.


There is a stage that people who are grieving will go through when they will become very angry. They aren’t often certain who or what they are angry at, but they do know that they are most definitely angry at the situation.


Depression, another stage of grief, is normal, but it can be dangerous if it goes on too long and gets too intense. Depression can cause the mourner to begin to withdraw from their friends and family that care about them.


Finally, there will come a time when the grieving person will begin to accept the death and all of the emotions that have went with it. They will start to move on with their own lives and although they will continue to remember the loved one that they’ve lost, they realize that there is nothing they can do to change things. Therefore, they must accept and hold dear the memories of the loved one.

Report this ad