Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Health & Fitness
  3. Holistic Health

24 unsung heroes to be heralded with Medal of Honor

See also

24 soldiers will be given the Medal of Honor, including 19 Jewish, Hispanic and African Americans who the Pentagon now admits were discriminated against in the past because of their ethnic backgrounds. The recipients include New York City natives Sgt. Alfred B. Nietze, “for courageous actions during combat operations in Heistern, Germany, on November 18, 1944, and Pfc. Leonard M. Kravitz, who was killed during combat in Yangpyong, Korea, on March 6-7, 1951.

Sadly, only three of the soldiers being honored are still alive, all Vietnam veterans who served in 1969. They are Spc. 4 Santiago J. Erevia of San Antonio, TX, “for courage during a search and rescue mission near Tam Kay May 29, 1969;” Sgt. 1st Class Jose Rodela, also of San Antonio, for “courage during combat in Phuoc Long province September 1, 1969; and Staff Sgt. Melvin Morris of Cocoa Beach, FL, “for heroism during combat near Chi Lang September 17, 1969.

“We are very proud of these soldiers,” stated Lt. Col. Alayne Conway, a spokesperson for the Army.

The Medal of Honor, presented by the President in “the name of congress” is the highest military honor given in the United States, and is awarded to US military personnel only for personal acts of valor “above and beyond the call of duty. To date 3,468 Medals of Honor have been awarded since it was created in 1861. Honorees have served in the Army, Navy and Air Force, as well as Marines and coastguard, with three different designs (seen above) designated for heroes of land, sea and air.

President Obama will present the Medals at a special ceremony to right the terrible wrong perpetrated against these outstanding men March 18th for more than 60 years.



  • Dead babies found
    Seven dead babies were found in Utah resident Megan Huntsman's old home
    Shocking Discovery
  • Kendall Jenner
    Get the Coachella looks: Kendall Jenner’s nose ring, green hair and edgy nails
    Coachella Look
  • Dog's Easter basket
    How to fill your dog’s Easter basket with the perfect toys
    Easter Basket
  • Rabbit owners
    Bringing home the bunny: Important information for rabbit owners
    7 Photos
  • Haunted island
    The world’s most haunted island may soon be the most haunted luxury resort
    Haunted Resort
  • Sunken ferry
    Search continues for missing passengers after a ferry sinks off the South Korean coast
    Sunken Ferry

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!