Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

2014 U.S. Nationals: Fields set, J. Force wins Funny Car Shootout

John Force won the Traxxas Nitro Shootout for Funny Car on Sunday
John Force won the Traxxas Nitro Shootout for Funny Car on Sunday
NHRA Media

NHRA Funny Car legend John Force lost the battle for Brainerd Saturday, but went home with $100,000 Sunday after winning the Traxxas Nitro Shootout for Funny Car during the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis. The final round was an all-John Force Racing battle as Force went up against teammate and son-in-law Robert Hight.

“It was a win-win situation,” said Force on the NHRA website. “We couldn’t lose. All of the sponsors were on all of the cars. We just couldn’t lose it.”

Force defeated Tim Wilkerson and Alexis DeJoria in early rounds to reach the finals against Hight.

In the second rain-delayed Brainerd final round of the weekend, Jason Line defeated Jeg Coughlin Jr. in Pro Stock for his 35th career win.

In qualifying, Tony Schumacher secured the No. 1 spot in Top Fuel with a fast pass of 3.748 seconds at 328.54 mph, and faces his Don Schumacher Racing teammate Antron Brown in the first round Monday. Steve Torrence took the No. 2 position (3.753 seconds/326.16 mph), followed by Morgan Lucas (3.757 seconds/322.81 mph), Richie Crampton (3.772 seconds/324.20 mph) and Shawn Langdon (3.779 seconds/321.81 mph).

Matt Hagan made the first three-second Funny Car run in Indy history – 3.998 seconds at 318.99 mph – to secure the No. 1 spot over his DSR teammate Jack Beckman (4.004 seconds/319.07 mph). Courtney Force took spot No. 3 (4.005 seconds/322.73 mph), with Del Worsham (4.016 seconds/317.12 mph) and Ron Capps (4.026 seconds/320.36 mph) rounding out the top five. Hagan faces Bob Bode in the first round of eliminations.

Line took the top spot in Pro Stock with his pass of 6.589 seconds at 210.01 mph, ahead of Vincent Nobile (6.601 seconds/208.55 mph) and Shane Gray (6.603 seconds/209.39 mph). Dave Connolly (6.605 seconds/209.10 mph) and Erica Enders-Stevens (6.607 seconds/208.59 mph) round out the top five; Enders-Stevens faces her husband, Richie Stevens, in Round One Monday.

Eddie Krawiec took the No. 1 spot in Pro Stock Motorcycle with a pass of 6.829 seconds at 195.56 mph; he faces Shawn Gann in the first round. Jerry Savoie (6.944 seconds/194.18 mph) starts No. 2 on the field, followed by Matt Smith (6.888 seconds/193.63 mph), Michael Ray (6.890 seconds/194.21 mph) and Hector Arana Jr. (6.906 seconds/195.11 mph).

Final eliminations for the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals take place Monday beginning at 11 a.m. ET. Keep up with the action at

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at

Report this ad